My stress was stressful...

5 24
Avatar for Prisca
Written by
2 years ago

Hahaha...in my country we know well how to magnify things. You would hear someone say "my tired is tired". How about me now saying " my stress is stressful". But you see eh, funny enough this sentence sends a message.

If I walk up to you to tell you " I am tired"... and someone else comes to tell you "my tired is tired". Who do you think will be so worn out? The latter I guess, Lol. So when you hear someone saying " my tired is tired" you should know it means extremely tiredness.

Last week was too busy for me and stressful. I can boldly say I have that skill which says "ability to work under pressure".

Ok, I had some experience, having such skills of working under pressure. On the upper Sunday, I was opportune to lay hands on some western examination. As an examiner, we had to go through some training on how to allocate marks and score students. After this training, you would then be given nothing less than two hundred and fifty-something scripts.

Well, I got two hundred and forty-four scripts. When I got home that Sunday, I decided to eat and rest before marking. I ate, rested, and had a little chit-chat with hubby. And I picked the first script to mark to my amazement, this candidate only wrote his or her name and submitted the answer sheet. Out of anger, I came here to express my disappointment which I tagged " what went wrong". I'm not going to go into that now.

I was able to mark throughout the night, I marked as far as 1 is into the night. Thanks to my hubby, who called and kept me company. I began marking the following day which was Monday. I was shocked that these children can't express themselves in a good construe sentence. Some used abbreviations to write, oh...I weep. While some couldn't spell a word as simple as 'number'.

What about writing out of the point or when they were asked to comment on a character in the book "invisible man" and the candidates began writing about spirits...I weep for our present-day students.

I was able to mark over two hundred scripts my Tuesday but my eyes were suffering it. I tried to catch some sleep but it was shortened because of the urgency in the submission of the marked script.

On Wednesday, I went for a compulsory vigil which stayed till 5 am of the following morning. I came back that Thursday, prepared for work because I would be having morning classes and will be going my nysc general CDs. I got to the CDs and I was taking a nap stylishly. I came back from work, I needed to go for private classes which I did. Later my phone rang and my mum wanted me to cook. I oblige to cook because, for the past few days, I have been taking tea and bread, and I needed real food. As I began cooking, I knew my body could not start managing it. I put all the ingredients and called my little to monitor the food that I am done with my roles. I had my bath and zoom off to sleep. I woke up at midnight to request food. I ate and returned to bed.

Friday, I carried on with my normal routine and I marked the remaining scripts.

Saturday morning, I did some house chores and went for a meeting which ended at 2 pm. From there, I went to see my team leader get what I have marked. Trust senior government workers, she came at 5 pm to attend to five examiners who had such much script. She couldn't do much and pleaded we come on Monday. For mine, she asked me to re-score because I was giving them high marks...

Sponsors of Prisca
empty
empty
empty

I am open to sponsorships...

5
$ 1.23
$ 1.15 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.03 from @Pearlkel
$ 0.03 from @King_Gozie
+ 1
Sponsors of Prisca
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Prisca
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

What a stressful day you had, if I were the one I would have collapsed when marking the scripts lol. You should rest so it doesn't affect your heatlh.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This is a pandemic on the path of students of this generation. It is such a pitiable case. The invincible man (literature text) is a great text for secondary school students, perhaps they hadn't taken time read.

What you see them doing beats imagination. The government does not help matters here. I know of a state where the commissioner for education recommends that no student should fail. The teachers must pass the learners whether they merit it or not. What a spoilt generation.

Your stress was indeed stressful. You are such a workaholic.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hmmmm, this is appalling!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

These scripts marking must really be draining you, I just hope you're getting enough paid for the stress because I think this is the second time I'm seeing it in your article

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Lol...I actually went there for the experience. But the pay can at least solve a problem.

$ 0.00
2 years ago