How do you do it?

2 27
Avatar for Prisca
Written by
2 years ago

I used to wonder how people will sit to write for hours without getting tired. During my University days, some people said they read for 8hours at a stretch while I will just read for four hours I will feel so drained as if the book had taken the whole of me. Or is it writing? If I should sit to write something will come up and I want to give it a name because I have been greatly disturbed.

But now I think I have found a name to it. Its name is Mr. Distraction. He's a cruel being that comes to deceive you. Why do I call it cruel? I have been in a situation where I am supposed to do something but I got distracted and I even enjoyed the distraction. Now as I'm done with distraction, I couldn't continue with what I was doing, I become so angry with myself.

In as much as I called it cruel, it also can be a lifesaver. Have been in a situation where I went blank on what to write but I got distracted a little and I had an inspiration. So permit me to use this oxymoron that Mr. Distraction is a cruel lifesaving being.

Distractions can come in various ways either negatively or positively. Ok, here are my distractions...

Sickness

Like I said earlier, some of these distractions are good and also bad. Some also when they come may have a role to play. I began having signs of sickness on Monday. I did my normal routine, going to work and doing some home chores. I thought to write on read.cash by Tuesday because I was already stressed out. Tuesday came, it gave me some signs but I managed to go to church. As I finished everything, I have to do that night and retired to bed I became extremely tired and I decided to rest a little. Only for me to wake up in the middle of the night with so much pain and a rise in body temperature. Meanwhile, on Wednesday I have been thinking of how to meet up with my marriage class. I was tired of going through the process of taking permission. And then this sickness came in the early hours of Wednesday. Well, I just called I won't be coming to work that I'm down with Malaria and Typhoid. Immediately, I went to the pharmacist shop, got some drugs, and used them. Within an hour I became better. I joyfully threw the blanket I was using to shield myself because I was feeling cold, took my bath, and began heading for my marriage class.

It was a good distraction for me because I don't have to go through the rigorous process of taking permission and hinder unnecessary attention from my colleagues to know where I am always going every Wednesday. But it was a bad distraction because for some days, due to signs of the sickness, I have not been able to write on read.cash.

Social Media

Earlier this year, I have had so much distraction from my social media beeps. Once I'm on read.cash and I see a WhatsApp message, I would be tempted to check the message and that is how I will begin to chat and distracted.

Sleep

Someone had said that this song "I can't kill myself" by a musician has made so many youths lazy. Atimes I will be reading or writing then sleep will come knocking. If I try to resist and can't resist anymore, I will just say in my mind "I can't kill myself ooo" 😝 zoom off, I have begun sleeping already.

Distractions are everywhere but your reaction towards them matters a lot. Even right I feel like going to bed to rest because I just home from work but I refused to be distracted.

This is my write-up on distraction, a challenge by @JonicaBradley.

Thank you for reading my little scribbles.

4
$ 0.10
$ 0.05 from @FarmGirl
$ 0.03 from @Pearlkel
$ 0.02 from @Sequoia
Sponsors of Prisca
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Prisca
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

That's why, it is very important for me to have targets and goals daily hihi. It will serve as my motivation to neglect the distractions around me hahaha.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

When you set a target for yourself, there is no limit to what you can do. Writing with passion or when reading, you may go the mile. First start with writing a thousand words per blog or reading a 500 paged novel in a day. I bet you, that would have been the starting point.

$ 0.00
2 years ago