A Victim of Depression: My Journey Out of Depression

1 19
Avatar for Princewillalex
3 years ago

A VICTIM OF DEPRESSION: MY JOURNEY OUT OF DEPRESSION

Depression is real and it has taken the lives of many young people.

Having struggled with depression for couple of years, I find out that depression is one of the most prevalent mental health issue among young people in modern times. https://youngminds.org.uk/media/3797/you-are-stronger-than-that-mean-voice-inside-your-head.jpg?anchor=center&mode=crop&width=1050&quality=80&heightratio=1&rnd=132357489170000000

Research have shown that many young people are struggling with depression than before.

I could not have known what it means to be depressed if I did not pass through it.

Many people attribute depression to a mood disorder which is accompanied by a state of sadness, loneliness, indifference, lack of concentration and withdrawal from others in severe cases.

Personally, believe that each stage of depression is a result of reaction to negative occurrences like abuse, low self-esteem, bullying, anxiety, financial distress, family breakdown and other personal reasons.

In young people, depression can occur out of anxiety and worry over events of life such as peer pressure, exams, relocating to new house or moving into a new school, disagreement with family members and friends and unfulfilled dreams and aspirations.

In my experience, I noticed that during my depressed state, I tend to lose interest in things that I normally find interesting. I find it difficult to read and lack proper concentration. I lack motivation and felt that everything is just too hard to cope with. I also withdrew from family and friends at school, which affected my grades in school.

I perceive and believe that one may begin to wonder what led to this depressed state of mine. As I stated earlier, depression can result from a number of factors especially in young adults.

In my case, having experienced financial constraint in my final year in high school coupled with failed admission into my dream college for consecutive three years, I totally lost interest in career path and future aspirations.

I withdrew from family and friends, and lived a solitary life while undertaking a technical skill training in a renowned workshop.

First I claim not to be depressed when friends and family noticed my withdrawal from the social sphere. I told them that all was fine, whereas I was harbouring a cloak of sadness which affected my mental health and personal development.

Many young people experience this same symptoms, but they may never out or admit it especially when the right atmosphere is not created. When you notice any act of depression in young adults, you just have to look out for the red flags which may include:

1. Lack of energy and fatigue.

2. Slight or total withdrawal from family, friends and usual regular routines.

3. Sadness, Moodiness and Irritability.

4. Frequent crying in some cases.

5. Being self blaming.

6. And, thoughts of suicide or death.

When any of these occur, it is proper to support such a person in positive ways in order to provide support and help.

More so, encourage the victim of depression, to have a positive view about life or situations. Never criticise them as this may strengthen the feelings of self blame.

One can also offer to take the victim to a doctor, who will help talk to him.

My journey out of depression was one borne out of encouragement from family and friends, regular physical exercise and personal development coupled with securing admission into my dream college to pursue my career path. https://youngminds.org.uk/media/3799/it-is-okay-to-show-that-youre-not-okay.jpg?anchor=center&mode=crop&width=1050&quality=80&heightratio=0.9966499162479061976549413735&rnd=132357488580000000

It is trite to state that the best step to walking out of depression is speaking out. Speak out to the people whom you trust and believe can help you out of it.

In my case, I spoke out after initially denying it, and I received help from all sides.

2
$ 0.00
Sponsors of Princewillalex
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Princewillalex
3 years ago

Comments

Depression is real always seek for help and speak out

$ 0.00
3 years ago