The Diamond Ring (A fictional story)

2 22
Avatar for Princessbusayo
2 years ago

Lead Image

Fola has just returned from the United State of America after completing his degree and Masters's education.

...............

Welcome home my boy, said Mr. and Mrs. George (Fola's parent). After hours of gisting and eating, He decided to take some rest and finally slept off on the couch he was resting on. At midnight, Mrs. George came to wake him up to go to his well-prepared room. Early the next morning, after observing the morning devotion, his dad beckoned on Fola to come and sit with him while they have Father to Son discussion.

Fola, my boy, you really amazed me, going away from home and not joining those bad gangs is a plus to me. You make me proud of you and I can see you really took our instructions and never put us to shame. "Fola smiled" and his Father continued. Now that you are back to your Father's land, having completed your education, I think it is high time you had taken the position of the Managing director in my company. I have reserved this post for you as I knew you would be coming home soon. The previous MD had just resigned tendering his resignation letter because of his personal affairs.

Okay, Dad! I will think about it and give you my response. He stood up and was about to go inside when his Dad called and said "Fola, do give it a thought and come back to me". Yes, Dad, I will. He went inside.

After a week of giving it a thought, Fola concluded in his mind to take over the position. After all, it is my father's company. Who would want to occupy such seat if not for his heir to the throne. Dad, I am ready to become the MD of your company. Good! You have chosen well. We shall both go to the company tomorrow to guide you on some things.

Dad! Is it that early? I thought you would give me some days to get prepared. No son, work has started. You already have the answer in your mind before coming to me. I believed you have prepared yourself for this work. Both of them smiled while Fola went back to resume his chat with his friends.

The next day, Fola had woken up before anyone in the house and got dressed up, waiting for his dad who was still snoring in his sleep. He knocked on the door and was allowed to come in. Good morning Mum, Dad. (Dad woke up to see his son already dressed up) Fola, how are you this morning? I can see you are prepared. I will meet you soon. Okay, Sir! He left the room.

Fola was still chatting with his friends when the maid called him "Oga, your food don ready" (your food is ready) Okay, I am coming. Fola gave her a smile.

He quickly went to the dining table to eat some slices of bread and hot tea. As soon as he had finished eating, his Dad came out of the room, not wanting to eat anything as he was already late. Come on Son! We are late. Let's get going. They both dashed out of the house and they drove a thirty minutes drive to the company.

At the company.....

Everyone was busy with their work. Mr. George entered while Fola was behind him like a guard protecting his master. "Good morning Sir", one of the staff greeted. Good morning Stella. He went straight to his office. Everyone staring at the new man behind.

Stella went to meet some ladies and started her gossip. She is known as the gossiper of the company but she doesn't care. Who is that young guy following the boss? Well, as you can see, we were both here when they entered, said another lady. You better go back to your duty post. He is so cute! I think... You think what? Interrupted by Kemi the secretary. You this lady, you will never stop from this your attitude. Get back to work. They both laughed and resumed duty.

Mr. George came out to inform all of them that there would be a meeting in 20mins time. The meeting started with Mr. George starting the speech:

"I called this meeting so you all can be aware of a change here. As you all know, my son who traveled for his education some years ago has arrived and will be taking the position of the Managing Director".

Stella was still looking at the direction where Fola was sitting when Kemi gave her an eye signal to concentrate but she wouldn't listen.

So, I want you all to meet my Son here. His name is Fola George and he will be the managing director of this company. Everyone clapped and then kept quiet.

So I will want you to introduce yourself so he can know you all.

I am Charles, the Chief Operating Officer, said a young guy

I am Kemi, the Secretary of this company

Everyone introduced themselves and it was Fola's turn to talk. He started

"I am happy to meet you all. As you all know, I am the son of Mr. George and I just came back from the UNITED STATES. As the new managing director, I would like you all to keep doing well in your job as I will not take any unpalatable attitude from anyone. He who misbehaves will be sacked immediately without warning. I want you to be diligent more than ever because I detest laziness.

As if Fola had noticed Stella of her gossip. He then mentioned "any form of gossip is not allowed". You all are here for a different post, so get doing with your assigned job or else you will be sacked. Then Kemi's eyes met with Stella's own and they both signaled to each other.

After a few minutes, the meeting ended and they all left the board room. Good one my boy, you have started acting like one. So come, let me take you to your office. They both left after some minutes of chit chat.

Fola was taken to his office and everything was put in place for him. His office was furnished to his taste and he loved the atmosphere in the office.

I will be going to my office, said his Dad. Whatever you need, put a call across to the secretary and if you need me, you know my office. Okay Dad, thank you. Mr. George left his office.

After some hours of been in the office, he decided to take a stroll around the office when suddenly Stella bumped into the office. Oh! Sorry sir, I forgot to knock. No problem, hope no problem? Errm Errm (with no words coming out from her mouth). Hey lady, are you out of words? Did you lost your voice? No Sir, I came to congratulate you on your new position. Oh really? Alright, thanks.

If you need anything, Sir, you can send me, I am always available for that. Alright thanks, Fola left the office while Stella followed behind. After some minutes of taking a walk around the office, he went straight to his Dad's office. Dad! Let's go out for lunch.

How is your new position? Hope you are getting used to it? Dad, you know it is my first time. Give me some time, I will get used to it. Alright Son, I trust you. They both left for lunch at a nearby restaurant. They ate and talked for some moment and they left as soon as they finished eating.

It is almost 7pm, both Father and Son got prepared to go home. Stella has closed for the day while Kemi was still busy typing some files to be submitted the next day.

Mr.George walked out and met Kemi still working. Are you not going home, young lady? I will as soon as I am done typing this. Okay! Goodnight. Fola was still staring at Kemi and lost in thought when his Dad tapped him. Let's go Fola

Immediately Kemi finished her work, she closed for the day and went home.

Fola was so tired when he got home and didn't bother taking anything for dinner as he went straight to his room. He took his shower and off to his dreamland. The next day, he has woken up before anyone in the house and got dressed up for work. He arrived at his office at 7am, beating the traffic at Lagos Island. It seems he was the first to arrive apart from the gateman who is always sleeping and has his own lodge there. He went into his office and said a little prayer to God.

He was still in his office when the staff came in to greet him. "Good morning Sir"! He answered them politely and they all went back to their duty post. Stella, please wait. She was smiling within her and wondered why would he asked her to wait. She was still in her imagination when he stretched out a file to her. Give this to Kemi to type and bring it to my office immediately.

Kemi is not on seat. Why? I don't know Sir. Okay, you can go back to work.

After two hours, Kemi hasn't resumed duty. Is Kemi back? Asked Fola to the staff. No Sir! Stella, give me her number, let me put a call through to her. Sir! Let me call her myself, she will be here immediately. I said give me her number, I will do that myself.

Fola went back to his office, tried Kemi's line but wasn't going through. He kept trying but not going. What could be wrong? The day was over and Kemi didn't show up. They all closed for the day.

Dad, Is this how your staff do at work? What's wrong Son? Can you imagine one of the staff Kemi didn't come to the Office? Really? Yes, Dad! And did you try calling her to know her reasons? I did but her line wasn't going through. Alright, we don't know what happened, let's see how it goes tomorrow.

The food was prepared and he ate his food and went to his room. He was on his laptop when he received a call. Hello! Who is this? Bimpe on the line. I am now in Nigeria and will like to meet you soon. Expect to me tomorrow. She hanged the call

A flashback....

Fola and Bimpe were in a relationship before they had an issue. She was found cheating and this made Fola determined he wasn't interested anymore.

"Bimpe, this relationship can't continue again and this wouldn't stop our friendship in any way but know that nothing is going on between us". Said Fola three years ago before he left for Nigeria. Both have moved on with their life before he received a call from her.

For three days, Kemi didn't come to the office and all efforts to reach her proved abortive.

This time, Fola has started having feelings for her. Most times, he might just doze off in his office and suddenly see Kemi in his dream. So, he decided to look for her at all costs. He quickly went through her files where she submitted her curriculum vitae and saw her home address. He didn't wait for a second, he took his car key and drove off to the address written on the CV.

After much stress of locating and asking for directions, he finally got there but met her father at home. He greeted him and introduced himself. Kemi's father was happy and honored to have such a guest at their home.

Fola stated his reasons for coming and the father started "Kemi has been ill for some days and has been rushed to the hospital. She was robbed and beaten by some hoodlums on her way from work on the 22nd of June. Fola quickly remembered the day she was held up by some work in the office and refused to go home until she finishes her work. Where is she now? She is still in the hospital with her mum. Pls, can you take me there? I want to see her. He agreed and went together to the hospital where Kemi was.

On seeing Fola, Kemi was shocked at first but apologized for not coming to the office. Oh no! It's okay. Be fine.

Fola went to the doctor's office and both talked for a while. He then paid the bill. He was with Kemi all through and promised to check on her the next day.

Kemi was discharged after three days and resumed work thereafter. As soon as Kemi got to the office, all staff were happy to see her. Haaa Kemi, where have you been all these while said Stella. I tried calling your lines but none was going through. I am fine. Thank you.

She quickly went to her boss's office. Good morning Sir, Oh Kemi, how are you doing? Very well. Thanks so much for everything. It's alright. Now you are fine. Thank God. Next time, be careful and do go home early. Alright, Sir! (Kemi went back to her duty post)

After some hours, Fola sent for Kemi and told her to get prepared as they would be going out for lunch together.

After three weeks that Bimpe called Fola, she then decided to show up in his office with the help of his friend who gave her the direction. She got to the office and met Secretary Kemi. Hello! Can I see your boss? Good afternoon! Do you have an appointment with him today? Not really. He didn't know I will be coming today but I have called to inform him before now. Okay! Give me few seconds while I call him.

After few minutes, she was allowed in. Hey boo, what's up? Bimpe, how are you? Do have your seat. After talking for some minutes, Bimpe stood up and walked up to Fola. Can we come back together again? I promise I will never cheat again. Ever since you left, I couldn't find any other man like you. You are exceptional among all men and this is why I came down to Nigeria to look for you. Please, let's start afresh. Fola was still busy with his work when Kemi entered with a file in her hands. Sir, I am through with the files. Okay, put them down while I go through them. (She walked out). All these moments, he wasn't listening to what Bimpe was saying and told her to repeat what she had said.

Don't tell me I was ranting since while you kept deaf ears to my plea. Fola with shock lifted up his head at Bimpe, not believing those words were coming out from her mouth. He immediately told Bimpe to leave his office and never to come back again. Without looking back, Bimpe left angrily.

After six months, the love between Fola and Kemi had grown so strong that nothing can ever separate them and this didn't affect their work in the office as all other staff are aware of their relationship except for Stella who felt bad about this and kept looking for ways to come in between them but it seems their love is divine as no one could stop them. This kept going until one day, Fola decided to surprise Kemi by proposing to her.

After the day's work, Fola got home so exhausted as the food was served (his favorite meal Rice with Fish stew). After finishing his food, he then went straight to meet his parents where they were sitting and watching the news. Dad! Mum! I am in love! Mrs. George was astonished at first and then proceeded to ask who the lucky girl was. Her name is Kemi. Who is Kemi? You haven't brought any lady to this house since you came back said his father. Dad! The same Kemi working in your office. The Dad was surprised at first but after giving it a thought, they both advised him and wished him well.

On Thursday, the following week, Fola had gone to Ikeja to purchase a diamond ring. He paid the bill and went straight to his office. They greeted him and he went inside. Kemi! See me in my office now. She left what she was doing and went to meet him. What are your plans for this weekend? We are going out. Alright, I will work towards that. She got back to her work. Fola was still admiring the ring when all of a sudden, Stella banged into the office without knocking. He quickly hid the ring but unknowingly, she had seen it. Sorry, Sir! Why did you just bang in like that? What is your problem? I am sorry Sir, she went back.

Stella started working on how to get the diamond ring at all cost as she tried thinking of ways to do that but couldn't figure out ways to do it.

The next day, she had arrived before anyone as she needed to complete the files given to her to submit. She had finished and about to submit the files when she saw a small box, remembering what she had seen the previous day. Fola had forgotten the ring. She immediately took it and went to her seat holding the files in her hand.

After some minutes that Fola entered the office, he called all the staff and enquire from them about the missing box but none couldn't provide an answer. He was pacing around the office when Mr. Jegede the gateman entered. Sir! Is this for you? What? Where did you find this? I have been looking for it since I came in. Sir, I was trimming the flowers at the back of the office when I noticed this small box that was hidden at a corner.

Fola quickly called everyone. Who among you took this box? Kemi was still shocked and wondered what could be in the box that caused all this. If you do not bring out the culprit, I will sack all of you. They were all looking at each other when Stella confessed she was the one and explained her reasons for doing that. Kemi and other staff were disappointed.

Fola sacked her immediately and right in front of everybody knelt down and propose to Kemi. Will you marry me? Kemi with so much happiness shouted Yes and they both kissed each other while Stella went away in sorrow.

|The End|

5
$ 0.35
$ 0.27 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @HappyBoy
$ 0.02 from @Mictorrani
+ 1
Sponsors of Princessbusayo
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Princessbusayo
2 years ago

Comments

Interesting one!! Who one in your fate always get... While jealousy is common and if it's come with girl then it's become more... Btw they married with each other and stella always regret what she did and in reward whoe lost all love, friends, respect etc....

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Awwww, and they live happily ever after.

Girls like Bimpe shouldn't be given a second chance, while stella can be forgiven but care should be taken around her. Interesting story.

$ 0.01
2 years ago