Our Goat

2 19
Avatar for Princessbusayo
2 years ago

Yesterday, I came through @JonicaBradley post about goats and the characteristics they have. But she didn't add a characteristic which is "Goats are stubborn" 😂 Well, I had to include that in my comment on her post. Here is the link to the post 👇

The Post

So, I was inspired to tell you all about our goat. We all know animals are wonderful creature created by God for us and also, they are meat for human beings. Each animals have their own characteristics and I must say, I love some animals like the Sheep, Lamb, Rabbit, Lion, Puppy etc. They are my favorites in the animal world but something made me dislike goat (In fact, I don't want to rear one at all) and that is their stubbornness. Tell a goat to leave a place, before you know it, they are back to that same place. This is why most Nigerian likes comparing children who are stubborn to a goat. Lol

So, let me start by telling us about our goat.....

Taken with my phone.

When I was still in Secondary School, My Grandma was gifted with this goat named "Gospel". I don't know why she named it that but we have come to get used to the name and fortunately, it answers us when we call the name.

Gospel is over 20 years now: It was then I got to know Goats have long life span. I was even amazed it has lived for that long years. Gospel has been sick, but didn't die because my Grandma has a way of taking care of her pet with herbal concoction and immediately it get up and move around the town. It feeds on Grasses, Corn, Yam flour, other foods etc.

There is a hut built for Gospel and it has always been living alone until it gave birth to children, most of them we have killed on Christmas and New year. Grandma refused to allow us kill Gospel because according to her, she will be giving birth but when the kids grow up, they will be killed but Gospel will be alive and keep birthing. I wonder what will happen if anything happens to Gospel today and she dies.

Gospel is now a great grandmother because she has grand children and here are some of them.

Taken with my phone.

And this is the only kid left which Gospel gave birth to as we already killed others. 👇

Taken with my phone.

The kid also gave birth to children and they keep coming together and explore the town which they come back home in the evening. The goats already know the time to come home to sleep and once they arrives, they gently go into their hut to sleep.

Every morning, it is their cry that wakes us up and they are trying to tell us, they are hungry. Then we give them the shafts of corn or Flour as their food and then they go about on their day's activities until in the evening. Gospel and her children never gave us a tough time rearing them as they were great animals but only this act of stubbornness in them. Don't try to put your food outside because they will consume all.

I have never seen goats stopped chewing, they will have something they keep chewing even when they are asleep - Probably their nature. Lol

GOSPEL GIVES BIRTH TO TWINS

Sorry, I didn't take the picture of this moment as I didn't have a phone then, still in my Secondary School and we only came for Christmas and New year then in my village. I have never seen where animals gives birth but this one was the first I experienced.

I was washing my clothes outside that day when I saw Gospel panting, running and screaming. It was so restless that day and I didn't understand what was happening. I continued washing but Gospel wasn't comfortable and being curious to know what was happening, I left my clothes and went to call Grandma but immediately I arrived, Gospel gave birth to a kid and I saw something coming out from its anus.

Wow! I kept watching and another one came out. They were twins. Gospel gave birth to Twins. When my Grandma came, I asked if we could take the babies and clean them up, but she said Gospel will do that herself. Then I saw her cleaning the blood on their bodies and took them under her care. Then, I knew that day that animals give birth by themselves. I was surprised that day that I kept watching the new born babies till we left for the city.

Gospel is still alive today.

4
$ 3.38
$ 3.33 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @JonicaBradley
Sponsors of Princessbusayo
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Princessbusayo
2 years ago

Comments

I love Gospel!

Most goats have twins. Their first pregnancy usually is a single. But they're seconds and all future pregnant is usually twins.

We've had goats that always had 4 babies.

Those were good goats to have around!

I'm glad you wrote about Gospel. Thank you.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I do not really eat goat meat, to be honest. But I see these animals and I am always amused whenever they make that meeeeeee sounds. Hahahaha.

$ 0.00
2 years ago