My Grandfather's Dog

3 86
Avatar for Princessbusayo
2 years ago

Lead Image

One of the beautiful animals I love to have as a pet is dog. There's no doubt dogs are loyal to human beings and people rarely keep animals apart from Dogs. Dogs are used for farming purpose, security in the house or companies as they have this instincts of recognizing people easily especially if such person is there for an evil purpose. They are always at the service of protecting their owners. I have seen people showering great care on their dogs because they are the best kind of animal to keep. Dogs are man's best friend.

Here is a story about my Grandfather's Dog. Though I never grew up to see the dog but stories about it made me have a memory about it and has made me decided to own one as pet.

Before my Granny died some years back, he owned a small local dog. I bet, he must have trained this dog so well that it goes on an errand for him. Instead of him to send his children on an errand, he sees it pleasing to send his dog instead, and the wonderful dog will humbly go as fast as he could and he will return home with such thing it was sent to get. This made my Grandfather loved his dog the more. Many times, he takes him along to the forest for hunting and farm to get foods.

The dog is the first to eat in the house and any mistake of not feeding the dog will be a punishment to his children by not giving them food to eat. There was a day every of his children were eating and they forgot to give the dog food. He asked if the dog had eaten, they looked at themselves and said "No". This made him angry and ordered everyone to drop their foods and give it to the dog to eat. They never ate any food that day. Since then, they never forget to give the dog food.

One-day the dog went into the forest and killed a big animal - we call it "Eran Igbe" in Yoruba, Goat meat in English. Immediately he rubbed it mouth to the animal and blood was all over it mouth and buried it somewhere in the forest so that no one would take it. It ran as fast as it could till it got home. My Grandfather was busy sharpening his Cutlass and gun, getting ready for hunting that morning and so the dog was jumping around him to call his attention to its mouth but my Grandfather didn't pay attention to it. Suddenly, he looked at its mouth and saw blood, being a man who has trained the dog and also understand something is wrong since he was a hunter. He quickly carried his items and the dog led the way.

They kept going until they got to where the dog buried the dead animal and he quickly digged the ground and found the dead meat. My Father was very happy as the dog already made his work easier. They went home back and prepared the meat, he gave some to the dog to eat too. My Grandfather tapped the dog on its head and said "Good job".

But a beautiful and happy day turned sour when a van hit the dog along the way and instantly it died, my grandfather couldn't bear the loss, he cried for days because a loyal animal to him is gone. He really missed this dog so much.

Truly, animals are nice to their owners if treated well. I also understand that animals have feelings too like human beings and we must never try to starve them but feed them and nurture them. They deserve our care and attention. These animals get sick too and so maximum treatment should be given to them. They need to be around us so they don't feel sad or lonely. Animals are the beautiful thing God gave to us and we must always try our best to understand them too.

4
$ 0.54
$ 0.52 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.02 from @Mictorrani
Sponsors of Princessbusayo
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Princessbusayo
2 years ago

Comments

I really relate about this, since I love dogs. We have two dogs currently at home, and they are loving and adorable dogs. Dogs can really love their owners more than themselves. They are better best friends than people, if I were to be honest.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's a wonderful and emotional story. I also feel like crying when I read a van hit the dog.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I also cried when my Dad told me the story and how his Dad wept. It was a really so emotional. I appreciate your reading Sir How are you doing today?

$ 0.00
2 years ago