A Journey to the Waterfall in my Hometown

5 42
Avatar for Princessbusayo
2 years ago

Lead Image

I never knew my hometown has a beautiful waterfall and also the largest waterfall in Nigeria according to sources. It is called Owu Waterfall. It is located in Kwara state (The Western Part of Nigeria). The whites already planned buying the waterfall but the elders and Kings declined they aren't selling it to the whites. It is our pride and we shouldn't sell it off.

Owu Waterfall is a big one when I got there. I couldn't believe my eyes and my mouth wide opened hearing different secrets about the water.

We went home for Christmas in year 2017 and my church decided to go for an excursion to the Waterfall. We paid little amount of money and my families and other church members got ready early in the morning and our church bus took off by 7am.

We drove for an hour and the bus couldn't go again. We were told, that is the limit to where bus or bike can go, so we would have to trek to get to the place. Little did we know we are starting another journey into the forest. It took us over 2 hours walking by leg to get to the Waterfall. We got there, met some people who also came for an excursion. We waited for them to finish so we could have time for ourselves.

https://images.unsplash.com/photo-1501761095094-94d36f57edbb?ixid=MnwxMjA3fDB8MHxzZWFyY2h8MjB8fG93dSUyMHdhdGVyZmFsbHxlbnwwfHwwfHw%3D&ixlib=rb-1.2.1&auto=format&fit=crop&w=700&q=60

We took pictures and had fun. My brother and his friends went up to the mountain to view how deep it was from above. My brother already knew some secrets about the water because according to him, it wasn't his first time visiting the Waterfall. You know as a guy, he would always go everywhere and roaming about and probably he journeyed and met himself at the place.

Here are the secrets of the waterfall.

1. The waterfall listens to its name and when people shout it name "OWU WATERALL", the water starts gushing out so much that we would then stay under the water as it splashes on us. When we stop calling it name, it stopped pouring out water.

Image source

2. Whoever goes up to the mountain and decided to see the secret or source of the water, they will fall and die. This is one of the secrets my brother knew and decided not to allow his friends see the source or where the water was coming from when they went up to the mountain.

3. No one goes to the river without the permission of the king of the town. According to people, there is a snake inside a rock in the water. After taking permission from the king, the king then calls one of the strongest elder in the village to make a town cry in the water. Once the snake hears the sound of the bell, it would understand people are coming, so it will crawl to a place till people are through. The bell would be rung again for the snake to go back to its place.

This was what we did too before going to visit the waterfall. If we don't take this step, the snake would kill everyone.

I was so amazed hearing these secrets. I was anxious to see the big snake, but I wasn't allowed. We took different pictures and it was time to go home.

We trekked another 2 hours back to where our bus was and we drove home.

Something strange then happened and I couldn't believe my eyes. All the pictures the cameraman took all varnished. None was left alone to view. Though we were so sad but at least we were happy to visit such big Waterfall. I am so proud of my state.

My legs were so aching me and it took 3 days to feel better from the pain.

This is my visit to Owu Waterfall in my state.

(Sponsors)

5
$ 6.45
$ 6.43 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.02 from @Mictorrani
Sponsors of Princessbusayo
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Princessbusayo
2 years ago

Comments

This is so magical and mysterious. Interesting, maybe fairies' way of entertaining the people, and protecting it as well? Wow. This one's amazing. Wonder of nature.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I love it too and it's so amazing to view such waterfall. Thank you for reading my article.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hi. I enjoyed reading your article about Owu Waterfall. I am also from Nigeria and never heard this legend before. It is really interesting. Any time I happen to be in Kwara State, I will surely visit this site.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

You should visit there too but don't forget to take permission from the king of the town. Thanks for reading my article.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

And thanks for publishing the article

$ 0.00
2 years ago