Journey of a Purple Butterfly part 1

0 20
Avatar for Primrose_Amethyst
2 years ago

I have been thinking about what I can do during this pandemic that I cannot go out of my house. I want to do something that can inspire others and hopefully encourage others to be more optimistic especially when facing life challenges.

This is it! I will finally tell my story and hopefully, I can inspire or motivate you! Yes, you! You are the one who will read my story. The purple butterfly is the symbol for the people who were diagnosed to have SLE (Systemic Lupus Erythematosus) with nephritis or in short Lupus with nephritis.

It started when I was thirteen years old. I just graduated grade six and I am very excited to be in my first-year high school. To be in a new school, to meet new friends, to join different school organizations, and to be an honor student. I want to do good in school to make my parents proud because they always told me that "a good education is the only treasure that they can give me". You see, I am a teenager with lots of dreams for myself and my family. But, it changes on the last week of October 1996. I get exhausted easily and I am struggling traveling going to school. I cannot concentrate in the lessons because I feel so tired and sleepy. Then I felt pain in the joints of my wrist. I cannot write because it is difficult for me to hold my pencil because of painful and swollen fingers. There were days that it is difficult for me to go to school that I needed to be absent from school. And, being absent from school is a big sin for me.

My mother who was just given birth to our younger sister was really worried because she does not know what is happening to me. I used to be energetic but all I want during that time was to just lay down and sleep. Then I already had a fever. My fever was on and off. My father brought me to different pediatrics clinics but still no clear answer of what was happening to me. Then my mother who was just recovering from giving birth cannot take it anymore told my father to bring me to the hospital because my fever was not going away.

My father brought me to a General Hospital. The cab stopped in front of the emergency building. When we alighted the cab we went inside the building but my father was stopped by the security guard telling him that only women are allowed inside the building. We were wondering why, but anyway I went inside and I was approached by a nurse or was it a receptionist (I do not have any idea). Then she asked me "do you have bleeding?" I said "no", she asked me again "how old are you?", I said "thirteen". I saw her frowned. Then suddenly my father appeared asked them "Is this the emergency for pedia?", the woman said, "this is an emergency building for pregnant women". When I heard that it's as if my fever flew away and ran out of the building. It was so funny because the emergency building for pedia was on the other side.

When we went to the pediatrics emergency room. I was admitted and stayed there for three days. My father keeps on asking why am I have not yet transferred to a room. The doctors told my father that they have to be certain of what is my sickness before they transferred me to a room. During those three days in the emergency room. Nurses were always getting blood samples, x-ray, ECG, and other procedures. My father informed my mother of my condition and my mother was still very worried because I still have a fever. She wanted to go with me but we had a newborn baby that she needs to take care of. I can imagine now how difficult the situation was for my parents. But, when I was in the hospital even though the procedures were very painful I did not cry because I want to show my father that I am strong and I can endure the pain. So he will not be too worried about my condition. The only one that made me cry was the allergy test. It was very painful! But, the nurse was very friendly and nice and tried his best to comfort me. Let me tell you a very handsome nurse...

This will be for now. I will continue next time.

Just last message. Amidst the chaos, loneliness, or trials there will still be moments that can make us smile and lessen the burden that we are struggling with.

1
$ 0.00
Avatar for Primrose_Amethyst
2 years ago

Comments