My favorite teacher; Miss Becky

2 22
Avatar for PrettyShare
3 years ago
Topics: Inspirational

As my life’s clock gradually pulls me into my late twenties, I sometimes wonder if my generation of 90’s kids will ever find contentment and some level of fulfilment in this nation. I say this with a deep sense of concern because of how my teacher, Miss. Becky nurtured us while in school.

She loved teaching so much that if you spent 5 minutes in her class, you can easily tell this woman was a real teacher who derived joy, contentment and satisfaction from the job she did. Sometimes she drove me home in her car after school and as much as I wanted to perform well in school for myself, I wanted to make Miss Becky happy too. Years after finishing, I visited her at a Christmas celebration and sent gifts a couple of years ago. That was the effect she had not just on me, but many of us who passed through her class. She nurtured us into better humans.

I, like many kids of my time, believed if we found something we can give our all to, everything else would fall in line. So it wasn’t about making the most money and aspiring to great riches, but about making the most impact, just like our teacher taught us. This is what we believed in and truthfully, this is what I still believe in.

When the 21st century technology opened the world to us in amazing ways we’ve never seen before, we began to realize we could be more. Awake at 11:00 pm on your bed, you can stream movies, watch social media videos and see pictures of your peers in developed countries, enjoying the dividends of a system which rewards hard work. Now we see that beyond impact, we can aspire to make money and lots of it too. This sounds interesting and exciting.

But there’s a problem here!

It soon becomes obvious that many people can’t achieve their lofty dreams and aspirations because those in charge of our commonwealth have refused to develop the country and provide an enabling environment for hard work to be rewarded. So anger and disillusionment begins to set in. We have come to realize that unlike our school teachers in the 90's, finding contentment in this time and age is really hard. The more we try to ignore and push, the more the system gets worse and bites us hard.

For those who think kids of the 90’s are not interested in moving this country or their life forward, I have this quote by Ayn Rand for you to ponder on:

“When you see that trading is done not by consent, but by compulsion; when you see that in order to produce, you need to obtain permission from men who produce nothing; when you see money flowing to those who deal, not in goods, but in favours; when you see that men get richer by graft and pull than by work, and your laws don’t protect you against them but protect them against you; when you see corruption being rewarded and honesty becoming a self-sacrifice; you may know that your society is doomed.”

(End of quote)

Teachers like Miss. Becky dedicated their life to training and nurturing decent people for our society. They found contentment and purpose in teaching future generations. That was their calling.

I hope I leave a better world for my children whenever they arrive here.

6
$ 0.02
$ 0.02 from @TheRandomRewarder
Sponsors of PrettyShare
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for PrettyShare
3 years ago
Topics: Inspirational

Comments

I like this article.becouse teacher is the most important part of our life

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you

$ 0.00
3 years ago