Sketching Using An Ordinary Pen? Why Not.

8 54
Avatar for PrettyDiane
2 years ago
Topics: Motivation, Art, Journey, Sketch, Talent, ...

Do you know what you're capable of? Do you know yourself well? I remember during my first year in high school, our values teacher told us it's hard to know who we really are. We just know a glimpse of who we are, but not the whole personality.

They said, in order for us to know ourselves better, we should have a journal or diary. Write your everyday feelings and activities to keep track of yourself.

When did it start?

It started during the time when our electricity hadn't been restored yet. Since I couldn't used my phone, I tried searching for something just to entertain myself.

Since we have a 1 rim of an A4 bondpaper and a Faber Castle pen, I tried sketching my partner, for the very first time.

This was not perfect, I know. But I really tried sketching him. He told me my sketch kinda look like him, so I was very happy for that. Though I know it's just nothing compared to other sketch, but still felt very proud of myself because the outcome was still pretty for a first timer like me. (Self-proclaimed! 😝🤣)

I was so determined to create more. So, the next day, I grabbed my sister's graduation photo and sketched her.

It was hard to do the shadings since I have only a pen. No pencil and other materials at all. One mistake would create a lot of disaster. 😂

Compared to the first one, this one is much better. I think. Shading was pretty hard as what I said so I used a faded lines to create a shadings to my sketch. It's a whole lot of process before I finished this because pen is a lot more harder to use than pencil.

The next thing I did was sketching my very cute niece. I promised to sketch her and gave it to her once it's done.

Here are the process of my sketch.

Had trouble converting video to gif but still madeee it lol.

I think I did pretty well here too. She was very shy when I gave it to her, but she's very happy to see her face on a bondpaper. I wish I could buy materials for my new found hobby.

The last face I sketch was my brother.

He was asking if I could draw him because he wanted to post it on Facebook. As her older sister, I really like to do the favor because I know he was proud of me, and he really wants to showcase it to his friends.

This was the result.

It's a whole lot of sketching for 5 consecutive days! It was all worth it. This new found hobby helped me divert myself during those days that I couldn't sleep, I couldn't use phone due to super typhoon Odette aftermath.

I really didn't know I know how to sketch not until I tried doing it.

Everytime I sketch, it makes me forget all my problems and anxieties. It's a good hobby though.

Closing Thoughts: ☁️

I made this article because I want you to know that you might have a hidden talent. It takes time to actually know about it, glad I discovered mine.

It is never too late to own your talent. We never know what we are capable of until doing and trying it.

Looking at the photos above, I feel very proud of myself. Imagine doing it for the first time in my whole life.

If I can do, you also can do it!

6
$ 2.17
$ 2.05 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Arte-macarre
$ 0.02 from @Jijisaur
Sponsors of PrettyDiane
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for PrettyDiane
2 years ago
Topics: Motivation, Art, Journey, Sketch, Talent, ...

Comments

Hala ang galing sis! Pwede mo na siya ibenta sa Opensea as an NFT. :) Ako mahina ako sa portrait kasi hehe. So good! 🥰

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Paturoo naman sis paano. Gusto ko talaga gumawa nang account doon at magbenta. Hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Well done my friend I wish you valuable perseverance I wish you happiness

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you Emad. I wish you a good life also.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Uwwu this is sooo nice! I wish I could do that but no. lol. I tried it before in school but the outcome was really bad. I really hope someone will sponsor you or might be your tips here will be saved to let you buy all the materials needed hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you so much Aaliyah. I planned to order materials from Shopee but since shopee options are not available yet in our area, maybe I'll buy it once it is okay.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Chase your dreams! hehe we are just right here to support you all the way.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thanksss bebeee. Hehe for the support. Alwayss.

$ 0.00
2 years ago