How did I survived college?

0 18
Avatar for PrettyDiane
2 years ago

" I can, so you can"

Writing this article to inspire students who are just like me, who struggled in life just to graduate without the help of their parents.

I took Bachelor of Science in Civil Engineering from a well-known university in Cebu, Philippines. The tuition was quite expensive and with the kind of family I have, we couldn't afford it for sure. I tried applying for an Academic Scholarship,but still not enough to pursue my studies. When I reached 18, I decided to work as a call center and in there, I started paying for my tuition and other needs. I was happy to help with my parents at a very young age, and I knew from there, they were very proud of me. It was not an easy journey since I had to go to school in the morning, sleep for 1-2 hours, then work. A cycle I had for 2 years until I reached my 4th year in college. I had breakdowns due to stress and not having a proper rest because of my very hectic sched. One time, my parents found me crying because I couldn't do it anymore. I wanted to quit because I was so tired that I wanted to rest. Forever.

January 1, 2017, I was admitted in the hospital because of overfatigue. After the examinations, Doctors' found out I had Vertigo so I was forced to rest and quit schooling. I had depression and I felt empty. Every morning I woke up feeling empty and would just cry. I didn't want to see other people and that included my family and friends. I was at the point of my life where I lost the fire to continue what I started. One day, it hit me. I needed to stand up for myself and for my family so I started fighting again. I wanted to continue my schooling and I got accepted as a Non-Acadamic Scholar in our school for 3 wonderful years.

The family I found in my Alma Mater

Civil Engineering was a hard course. I failed a lot of times but it didn't stop me from pursuing my goals. I still had sleepness nights but it was a fulfilling one. I started loving what I am doing and that made me become much stronger. My experiences had taught me that life is tough, and in order to overcome it, you have to prove to it that you're strong enough to endure it.

I made this one because I want to motivate the students who are struggling in their school works right now. Don't quit. Life is harder when you give up your passion. Struggle now and enjoy life after. This is my story.

"I can so you can"

1
$ 0.00
Sponsors of PrettyDiane
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for PrettyDiane
2 years ago

Comments