A Daughter's Essay

1 10
Avatar for Preciousrubyloves
3 years ago

A Heart Touching Story ❤️

A Daughter's Essay (A Short Story)

===========================

Ganga Das was a middle-aged man. He was watering the plants in the garden of an International school.

Someone shouted at him "Ganga Das, Principal Madam wants to see you -- right now"...

He quickly got up, washed and wiped his hands and went towards the Principal's chamber. He was very afraid to know what wrong thing he did.

He was a sincere worker and never did any mistake. He knocked on the door of the principal's room.

"Madam, you called me?" He asked

"Come inside..." a strong voice came from inside. That voice made him more nervous.

The principal wore an expensive suit. She looked rich. She kept a piece of paper on the table.

"Read this". she said

"But, Madam, I am an uneducated person. I can not read English. Madam, please forgive me if I have done anything wrong. Give me another chance. I am forever thankful to you for allowing my daughter to study in this school, free of cost... I could have never ever dreamt of such a life for my child.." he said.

"Wait, you imagined a lot. We allowed your daughter because she is very bright and you have been our sincere worker. Let me call a teacher in, she will read it out and translate it to you. This was written by your daughter and I want you to listen to this."

A teacher was called inside the room. She started reading it, translating each line.

It reads----

"Today we are asked to write about Mother's Day.

I belong to a village where medical facilities and education still seem like a far fetched dream. Many women die every now and then while giving birth. My mother was one of them too, she could not even hold me in her arms. My father was the first person to hold me.. or perhaps the only person.

My dad was immediately asked to remarry but he refused. My grandparents forced him by giving all logical, illogical and emotional reasons but he didn't marry anyone.

My grandparents wanted a grandson, they threatened him to remarry.

But he did not care about their words. He left everything, his acres of land.. a good living, comfortable house, cattle and everything that counts for a good lifestyle in a village.

He came to this huge city with absolutely nothing -- but I was in his arms. Life was tough, he worked hard day and night. He raised me with love and utmost care.

While we were eating together, when there was only one piece, he used to say "I dont like this item. Eat this". I did not understand why he disliked many foods many times. He used to say that he hates eating it and I used to eat it considering that he does not like it.... but as I grew older I realised the reason. I understood what sacrifice is.

He gave me the best possible comforts beyond his capacity.

This school gave him shelter, respect and the biggest gift -- an admission to his daughter. If love and care define a mother... then my father is the best mother. If compassion defines a mother, my father fits in well in that category too. If sacrifice defines a mother, my father dominates that category. If a mother is made of love, care sacrifice and compassion, MY FATHER IS THE BEST MOTHER ON THE EARTH.

On Mother's Day, I would like to wish my father for being the best parent on the earth. I salute him and say it with pride that the hardworking gardener working in this school is my father.

I know I may fail this test after my teacher reads this -- but this is my sincere writing. I cannot hide the selfless love of my father."

There was a silence in the room... Ganga Das eyes filled with tears...He took the paper from the teacher's hands, held it close to his heart.

The principal got up, offered him a chair, a glass of water and said something... but, strangely her voice became sweet now.

She said "Ganga Das.. your daughter is given 10/10 marks for this essay. This is the best essay ever written about Mother's Day in the history of this school. We are having the Mother's Day event tomorrow and the entire School Management has decided to invite you as the Chief Guest for the event. This is to honour all the love and sacrifice a man can do to raise his children. We want to show that a person does not have to be a woman to be the perfect parent.

And most importantly this invitation is to appreciate the strong belief of your daughter in you, to make her feel proud, to make the entire school feel proud that we have the best parent on earth as told by your daughter."

You are a true gardener, who is not only looking after the gardens but also nurturing the most precious flower of your life in such a beautiful way...."

So Ganga Das, will you be our Chief Guest for the event because you proved a father can also be a mother?"

Ganga Das accepted the invitation and left the room with great happiness and thinking about his lovely daughter.

.............................................

Vocabulary:-

Wipe (verb) = remove dirt, liquid, etc. from something by using a cloth, your hand, etc.

Towards (preposition) = in the direction of somebody /something

Chamber (noun) = a room

Far-fetched (adjective) = very difficult to believe

Every now and then (Idiom) = sometimes

Huge (adjective) = very big

Utmost (adjective) = greatest

Threaten (verb) =say that you will cause trouble, hurt somebody, etc. if you do not get what you want

Sacrifice (noun) = the fact of giving up something important or valuable to you in order to get or do something that seems more important

Comfort (noun) = the state of having a happy life, with everything that you need

Compassion (noun) = a strong feeling of sympathy for people who are suffering and a desire to help them

Pride (noun) = a feeling of pleasure and satisfaction that you get because you or people connected with you have done or got something good

#HeartTouchingStories

(Courtesy # Sri Dhar)

-1
$ 0.00
Avatar for Preciousrubyloves
3 years ago

Comments

AutoEssayWriter https://autoessaywriter.net/ blew my mind! Can't believe this AI essay writer is free. Gave it a whirl for a history paper, and the output was impressive. Saved me so much time and stress. #GameChanger

$ 0.00
8 months ago