Introducing myself

0 50
Avatar for Pouki
Written by
3 years ago

Today I am about to make my first post in read.cash.

I had written a post that had to do about introducing me here, still I had to write more and never saw it uploaded. So, today it’s the day to introduce myself and a part of the beautiful city I live in.

I am a girl at heart, almost middle aged in years, and I love nature, animals, photographs, music, and many more including (the last year) cryptocurrency. I like communication with people, so I am trying to find real people from all over the world through internet platforms! Exchange ideas, everyday life, pictures from around the world etc., make me explore places I may never visit, know better places I’ve been to, and learn cultures, traditions and many more.

I’ve been working almost 25 years and the last 3 I had to stay home unemployed, which made me feel kind of “sick” – I am not the person who likes this kind of living -  so I started doing freelancing work, trying to learn new things, I made some radio shows (was a radio producer in an Internet Greek station), and many more. The last year with the lockdown felt even worse, so in my life cryptocurrency came and afterwards some platforms, sites I visited, use some of them and others not so much and trying to figure out how this works. Read.cash is an opportunity for me to continue doing something I like – communicate, share thoughts, learn from others, and let others learn from me and so on.

I was born and raised in Athens, capital city of Greece, but the last 15 years I live half of the days there and half of the days in Loutraki city, a seaside resort on the Gulf of Corinth. I used to come here every summer as a child, I love it like it is my home town city (which isn’t) and I’d love to spend the rest of my life here, near the nature and the sea.

Loutraki has a wonderful sea with clean waters and a magnificent view sunset, it has therapeutic waters of the natural thermal springs at the foot of Geraneia mountain range, and lots of air!

Today I’m sharing with you a part of the history that has to do with therapeutic waters. This is the old building that was used for thermal baths – nowadays, a new building called the "Thermal Spa" is made, with modern pools.

‘The construction of the Loutraki Thermal Spring took place in 1921 and was completed in its current form in 1934. The imposing circular building of the Spring, with its simple and austere structure, was designed by the architect Dimitris Pikionis (1887-1968).

The interior of the Pigi building is decorated with impressive mosaic representations, created by Stefanos Xenopoulos (1872 / 1873-1952), in collaboration with his students. The mosaics were created in 1935-1936. The themes of the performances are drawn from Ancient Greek mythology. Specifically, the mosaic representations depict two Nereids (at the entrance and at the exit), the Dance of the Dryads as well as the personification of the god Sun and Night (in the dome).’

‘When did the first thermal baths in Loutraki start?

The first analyzes of mineral waters were started by Professor Giovanni Batista Delviniotis in 1847. The first wooden baths with 10 baths were created in 1855 while in 1874 they were replaced by stone masons. Imagine that in 1920 there were at least 2000 beds for visitors who visited the thermal baths in Loutraki and stayed one to two months for their treatment.

At that time the permanent residents of Loutraki did not exceed 100 to 200 people. In 1934 the (then) classic building of unparalleled architecture of the Luxury Baths was built, which was visited for therapeutic purposes by the Prime Minister of Greece El. Venizelos. This classic building was renovated in 2009 - 2010 and was harmoniously connected with the state-of-the-art facilities of the new hydrotherapy center, the "Thermal Spa".’

Loutraki view from this area and the “little port” as we call it:

Our “waterfalls” in Loutraki:

I hope you enjoyed this small tour in the area.

Wishing you a great day and I’ll be waiting for your comments, questions, or anything else.

Pouki

*All pictures are mine, except the two inside the Pigi building

Source: https://loutrakitv.gr/%CE%BC%CE%B9%CE%B1-%CE%B9%CF%83%CF%84%CE%BF%CF%81%CE%AF%CE%B1-%CE%B3%CE%B9%CE%B1-%CF%84%CE%B1-%CE%B4%CE%B7%CE%BC%CE%BF%CF%84%CE%B9%CE%BA%CE%AC-%CE%B9%CE%B1%CE%BC%CE%B1%CF%84%CE%B9%CE%BA%CE%AC-%CE%BB/

Pictures and article Source: http://www.loutraki-agioitheodoroi.gr/%CE%B4%CE%B7%CE%BC%CE%BF%CF%84%CE%B9%CE%BA%CE%AE-%CE%B9%CE%B1%CE%BC%CE%B1%CF%84%CE%B9%CE%BA%CE%AE-%CF%80%CE%B7%CE%B3%CE%AE-%CE%BB%CE%BF%CF%85%CF%84%CF%81%CE%B1%CE%BA%CE%AF%CE%BF%CF%85/

 

4
$ 0.50
$ 0.50 from @Pantera
Avatar for Pouki
Written by
3 years ago

Comments