Where Have the Pennies Gone?

10 110
Avatar for Porwest
5 months ago

It seems quite a lot on read.cash has changed. Well, not if you are counting the platform itself. But certainly, activity is way down with only a few new articles appearing every day and very little internal interaction happening.

I am assuming that obviously the money is mostly gone—no more Rusty again—and perhaps the site is mostly abandoned by the owners.

Perhaps some members will still tip? But who knows? Even if there are a handful of members that do, it wouldn't be enough to necessarily make the writing part worth anyone's time, especially considering there are many other alternative places to write where you can actually be paid.

But that's not really what I am writing about. I came back in here a few days ago, dropped a quick new article just to sort of "test the waters," got a few responses, and dropped some pennies into the pockets of a couple of writers here.

Only to check back on their posts and see that the pennies I dropped are now gone.

I have seen my own "bank" increase a bit. Not by a lot. But a tiny amount, and I attribute that mostly to the possibility it's just due to market fluctuations in the price of Bitcoin Cash.

But the pennies I gave are gone and the "bank" at the bottom of those posts now say $0.00 again.

So, where did they go? Did they go into the ether? Or did the person I tipped those pennies to actually go to the person's account who I tipped? Did they get them and there's just a glitch to not show them?

Did the owners just eat them trying to recover any expenses or losses incurred keeping the site up and running?

If anyone knows the answer, I'd sure be curious.

5
$ 0.00

Comments

No tip for last few days, I also asked the same question to my fellow author here. My balance is zero and I withdraw recently and tipped others and made my balance zero and no tip added. You are right site owners seems abandoned the site.

$ 0.00
5 months ago

It is a shame. There was a time when I had some hope that the members themselves could revive it. But that ship seems to have sailed and clearly, I was wrong about that. May be something for me to write about next. I do have some thoughts, for whatever they are worth.

$ 0.00
5 months ago

I think we are getting some tips. We just don't see how much we are getting and who's tipping. Then again, my "bank", in terms of BCH did not increase in the last two days.

$ 0.00
5 months ago

Mine is down today, but that's because the price dropped. I will keep an eye on it, if for no other reason that pure curiosity, I suppose.

$ 0.00
5 months ago

I checked the transaction history. The last tip I received was on the 15th of November. :(

$ 0.00
5 months ago

About a week or so the random rewarded was present. I am not sure if it still is. Perhaps hidden like @unity says. I am not sure why the amount underneath a post goes back to zero. I never checked it out. Should I?

Perhaps it goes back to 0 once there's a payout?

💕🍀

$ 0.00
5 months ago

It never worked like that before so I have no idea. I guess it is what it is. As for the random rewarder, it would not surprise me he's gone.

$ 0.00
5 months ago

He can always come back. Write because you like to wrote and support others so they will support you.

$ 0.00
5 months ago

Your one guess is probably correct. The owners temporarily abandoned the platform in the hands of some uncooked software. The upvotes don't display. So, we can't be sure where the upvotes go. I don't understand why they had to hide the upvote display!

$ 0.00
5 months ago

Yeah. I will admit. It seems very odd.

$ 0.00
5 months ago