What Is $100 Worth?

31 69
Avatar for Porwest
2 years ago

Reading a post recently here on read.cash wherein the writer explained that they were working in a professional job in Venezuela, and was earning a $16 a month salary, it got me to thinking what $100 is worth to me, and what it is worth to someone else in another part of the world.

Sponsors of Porwest
empty
empty
empty

I happen to live in the United States where the average annual household income is around $70,000.

I play the big multi-state lotteries often, and it is not uncommon for the jackpots to reach into the hundreds of millions of dollars. This is truly life changing money. And I have often said that if one day I should be fortunate enough to be the winner of one of these jackpots, I would want to find some way to give some of it back to the community at large.

Image courtesy of Pixabay, user ChiniGaray. Bingo Balls Beads - Free photo on Pixabay

Granted, when most people think of charity, they think of it in terms of donating money to organizations that serve myriad causes. I tend to think more in terms of what I like to call "working charity."

That is, giving to people who are just out there trying as hard as they can to make an honest living. It's giving a bigger tip to a hard working waitress, or slipping a few bucks into the pocket of the guy bagging my groceries at the grocery store. It's maybe paying for groceries for a working single mother of three.

But reading that post also reminded me that even if I did that, what would the real impact be of my working charity? In my country $100 will not do much to really provide for any life altering change. In my country $100 is a mere token. Sure, anyone would still appreciate it. But in terms of moving the needle for anyone, any movement of the needle would be so small it would hardly be noticeable at all.

Image courtesy of Pixabay, user Capri23auto. Gauge Button Probe - Free photo on Pixabay

It made me think what greater impact I could have if I gave $100 to someone in Venezuela who makes $16 a month? That could provide for roughly 6-months worth of living expenses. Or what if I gave $100 to someone who is in Bangladesh who makes $30 a month? That would provide for about 3-months worth of living expenses.

Even in a country like Serbia where the annual average household income is higher, about $3,000, $100 would provide for at least a couple of weeks.

It is something that I think would be a very fun thing to do. And in no way is this a call to the Heavens to drop this cash down into my wallet so I can get started doing this right away.

For me it is simply putting things into a bit of perspective, and then looking at how much of an impact a place like read.cash or noise.cash can have across the globe.

A lot of our friends here and there are from the Philippines who have an average annual household income of roughly 267,000 pesos. In U.S. dollars that's about $5,354. If one person in the Philippines can accumulate just 1BCH at roughly $700 worth of coin, the impact of that windfall is roughly a month and a half's worth of living expenses.

Image courtesy of Pixabay, user stevepb. Savings Budget Investment - Free photo on Pixabay

For someone in Venezuela it will provide for 44 months. For someone in Bangladesh it will provide for 23 months.

For a guy like me, sitting here in the United States plodding away at the keyboard churning out an article here and a post there, none of this is very impacting in the overall grander scheme of things. It's just a little bit of extra that I can be thankful for while I am having a little bit of fun.

But for someone else in another part of the world? Their time spent in places like this is offering them greater opportunities than maybe they have ever had before to truly get ahead and have an impact on their lives, and their families lives.

And it also makes me think differently about the impact that I can have both here and on noise. The nickel or two that I tip to someone in one part of the world may not be worth much at all. But in other places? It's a virtual opportunity of a fortune.

If nothing else, it simply makes me think a little bit differently about how much a little bit of money can really have an impact that I had not considered before.

Lead image courtesy of Pixabay, user StockSnap. Money Currency Business - Free photo on Pixabay

12
$ 4.09
$ 3.66 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @emily2u
$ 0.05 from @Jane
+ 6
Avatar for Porwest
2 years ago

Comments

Ooh,, I wonder what are the jobs of your friends that has an annual income of 267,000. And how many hours do they have to work for it.

I'm from the same country but not in the city. And minimum wage here is $7.3

People who thinks what they earn from thier country worked abroad in hope that thier monthly income will increase to satisfy thier family's needs.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am not sure, but I would imagine people are working full time jobs there making that amount. In comparison the average household in the United States, if they were earning pesos, would earn about 3.6 million PHP.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Both noise.cash and read.cash has helped me a lot. Even a .01 is big enough for me and big smiles are plastered in my face when the random rewarder upvotes my article. I have circle of friends in noise.cash whom had a quality post who suppeorted me also.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's why here in read.cash I mainly support people from countries like Venezuela, the Philippines and Nigeria. My satoshis worth just $1 can mean a lot to these people.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I think this is a good way to go about it. $1 won't get me much here. But to someone else somewhere else? It could mean a couple day's worth of meals or keeping the lights on or a fan running.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I had been down and out before at one point in my life, and then came the opportunity to earn USD just by sitting at home, writing articles... what a life changer that was!

Certainly, what we earn on noise and read may not be "a lot" depending on respective situations, but it's still great to have an opportunity to dip our toes in the crypto space, so I'm grateful for this.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

It may not be a lot here, in the United States. But extra is always nice no matter the amount. Not as "life changing" as there, for sure. But still worth it. The best part? I can share some of it with you and others. :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh yes, extras are great! And with crypto, it's a new frontier, too! Thanks for sharing your blessings!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The minimum monthly wage in my country varies depending on the city. I live in the capital so it has the highest minimum monthly wage of around $300, but in reality, there are still a lot of people working for much less because of some loopholes in the rules and regulations. If you were living in one of the smaller cities, $100 is almost enough to cover food and living costs for the whole month.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

It just never ceases to amaze me how far $100 goes in other places. My average weekend between gas in the car, groceries, and household items, I might spend $300.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Something that seems so small to someone might be huge to another. $100 in Nigeria Naira is about #50,000 which is almost double the minimum wage. $100 is a lot to many homes in my country, but may just be "Chicken change" to someone else. Such is life.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

When you say minimum wage, is that per hour, per week, per month? Just trying to have a bit of perspective on that.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Per month. My monthly salary is about $55.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Wow. So, I would imagine read and noise probably offer a but more than that for you. If my numbers are correct, right now I am at about $345 per month from both sites.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh, I remember having a discussion with you about $100's purchasing value in your country and mine hehe

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Yes. We did. To me it is always a fascinating conversation. Just amazing to me how little goes so far in other places.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

perhaps this is also the reason why these platforms don't have many users from the US... they might feel like the amount is not something that could really do much to them but indeed, it's a different case for those of us living in 3rd world countries...

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I absolutely think you are right about that. I am happy to be here, though, and knowing what I know will help me to do a little more with the little bit I earn here and on noise. Because while it may be small beans to me, it's lifesaving money for someone else.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

true dear

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's a good reflection! Reading another's article bringing you these thoughts and realizing how better you are living compared with others (in a good way) must have made you so grateful at some point. And I hope you will get that dream of yours one day, hopefully soon, and you would be able to do what you desire to help in any way you can :)

And yes, reading your article also made me reflect on my own. I barely knew those data pertaining to average incomes in different countries, and sitting here in my own lil kingdom, doing nothing but eat, sleep, work a bit and enjoy life makes me feel kinda small but very grateful nonetheless.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

It really does astound me to think that on an average weekend between putting gas in my cars, buying groceries and household items, and the treat meal we get on Friday's typically, is almost 3 years worth of a professional salary in a country like Venezuela.

It helps to keep perspective, and I think appreciate what I have more knowing that others in other places are really struggling despite working VERY hard.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It did to me, I have no idea as to how bad others are faring these days. It's alarming and saddening really, the gap between wages and prices of commodities just can't meet somewhere better.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thank you for this! Over here in Venezuela, for someone like me, 16$ a month, with a college degree and working 8 to 12 hours a day is an insult, but, I can live with it, having the basics., food and hygiene. That being said, it doesn't allow me to afford health care, clothing, vacations, or even a hog dog in the street. So, for me, a tip from Read.Cash has more value than anything, because with it, I can save and pay for that blood test that I need (I need about seven actually) or to buy a pair of shoes and a T-shirt. It really makes you think of the true value and the impact that little tip can have on someones life, like you said in your post. 1USD may be nothing for most people but can mean the word for someone like me.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

It definitely does make a difference, and the more I talk to people in other parts of the world about their own economies and economic situations, it makes me think sites like this, and the generosity of people in places where the economies are better can really make a huge impact.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

What happens in my country is sad and absurd. Here the economy is a distortion. We have 4 years of hyperinflation. There are hundreds of thousands of people who work for salaries of misery. And the truth is nowadays pricing here aren't different than the prices paid in the US. Even some things may cost more here. Salaries are symbolic, and that is why many people have opted for freelance work and internet platforms. If you see the Noise statistics in Alexa ranking, it's not surprising, the country with the most users on the platform is Venezuela.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I've am happy even in the smallest dollars I earned here. As a jobless person for now, that amt of money is a great help especially to those who deserves it. The sad reality now is, sometimes the job who do the hardest has the lowest monthly income.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I think sites like this can and do make a difference for people like you in a country like yours. I'd like to see many poor economies find a way to lift their people up. In the meantime, the people have to simply fend for themselves to make a difference. I am glad to see that you can.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

$100 is already a month allowance for me and it costs a few thousand in our country.. Earning dollars every month through BCH platforms is really a great opportunity.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

It really is, and it is one of the things I love about sites like this. I mean, don't get me wrong. It CAN'T be a replacement for work. We need people in this world to make things and fix things and cook things and so on and so forth otherwise the whole system just falls apart. But we also need to make those things that people do VALUABLE for those who do those things as well. Otherwise no one wants to do it anymore, and when that becomes the attitude, it equally crashes the system.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

If i was given a $100 it's worth using for two months in my country,well i think it's the exchange rate that caused it to be like that.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Either way, that is still quite impressive how far $100 can go in your country. What country are you from?

$ 0.00
2 years ago