The War Cry Against The Rich

29 72
Avatar for Porwest
2 years ago

It is something one just gets used to. The rallying war cry against the rich as some evil force out to starve the poor and gain control and power over the common man. But it doesn't mean that just because one gets used to it that it makes it any less disconcerting or disheartening to hear the constant cry.

Sponsors of Porwest
empty
empty
empty

Because when you happen to be rich, you know who you are, and who you are not. You know how you got there, and how you did not. You know what your intent is, and what it is not.

Image courtesy of Pixabay, user geralt. Road Begin Beginning - Free photo on Pixabay

There are bad people in all walks of life. Rich or poor or middle class. It doesn't matter how much anyone has in their bank account. Penny less or penny rich doesn't define a person.

I can no more sit here and make a blanket statement that anyone who is poor is uneducated and lazy than I can make a blanket statement that anyone who is rich is an unruly and unscrupulous tyrant wielding his mighty whip.

In this world we all really need each other. We all have a place in this world, and we all have a role. People are important no matter what their financial status happens to be.

We all also have to start somewhere. And for most of us that starting place is at the bottom. And most of us start exactly there. The thing that is often missed for some who stay at the bottom or who never get remotely close to the top is the opportunity we all have to succeed and rise with the tide, so to speak.

Many people simply look at the rich and see the now. They see the riches that the rich have today. But they can't see where the rich came from or all of the struggles and sacrifices that they endured to get there.

Do you want to know the truth? Getting rich is not easy. In fact, it's damn hard. It requires deep motivation. It requires tests, trials, and tribulations. It requires the ability to stomach enormous amounts of risk.

Image courtesy of Pixabay, user Wokandapix. Risk Word Letters - Free photo on Pixabay

Luck can be a part of riches for some. But for the vast majority of the world's wealthy, it does not come easy. There is no luck at all involved in the process.

My mother's uncle, Archie Meinerz, was a determined man. He and his brother inherited a dairy farm from his father, and Archie simply saw something his father did not. In fact, he also saw something his brother did not. And so he grew that farm, and he expanded it, and eventually started Meinerz Creamery. He grew it enough that when the big food company at the time, Beatrice, was fast growing, they bought the creamery and Archie became a very rich man.

His brother bailed on the business long before Beatrice came along. He spent too much, and at some point he needed the money to sell off his share of the business more than he needed what that business would eventually become.

Archie was willing to make the sacrifices, and take on the risk, and do the work while his brother chose instead to take the quick buck.

Again, this is not to say that Archie's brother was lazy. It is simply to say that Archie's brother lacked the vision. He lacked realizing the opportunity. Nothing that Archie's brother failed to achieve was a product of the system. It was directly a product of the choices he made. And nothing of Archie's success or future riches was a product of thievery or greed or any desire to begrudge anyone. It was not his desire to amass great wealth just so that he could have more. His basis was the same as anyone else's who creates a business.

Image courtesy of Pixabay, user mohamed_hassan. Teamwork Cooperation Brainstorming - Free photo on Pixabay

To provide something of value to people. Not take something away from them.

I think a lot of the time we tend to forget what the rich actually provide to the world at large. We tend to forget the massive contribution they make to our lives, to the world, to the way we live, and even how we live.

Nearly all of our creature comforts in life are because of the rich.

The rich invent things, innovate things, produce things, and make the process of producing things more efficient so that more people can enjoy them. And when they create these things, businesses emerge. And businesses of course create jobs which allow us to feed our families and live our lives, and to enjoy our lives.

What's more, those businesses are also open to the masses to participate in the success of them. Anyone can invest in these businesses. One does not need to be the captain of the ship to enjoy their ride on the boat, so to speak. But of course the captain will have better quarters.

And if one has the vision, and realizes the opportunity, and puts in the hard work, takes on the risk, and makes certain sacrifices, it is not at all impossible for the rider to one day captain his own ship.

Image courtesy of Pixabay, user Pexels. Boat Sail Sailboat - Free photo on Pixabay

Rallying against the rich is not an honorable thing. It is simply a cry of envy and one's recognition and affirmation of defeat disguised by the definition of unfairness and a rigged system.

The thing is that I know how I got what I have. I did not steal it from anyone. And I know what my intent is. To use my own wealth to provide an opportunity for others to also become wealthy

Greed for me is not so much defined as simply wanting more. To me, greed is wanting more for nothing. Wanting more just because. Greed is wanting more at any cost, and at anyone's expense. Greed is not simply the desire to obtain wealth.

As I made my own rise to the top, and as I have done throughout my life, I never once begrudged the wealthy of their riches. I asked questions, and I read their stories, I tried to understand their plight and their secrets, and I used all of what I learned to carve out my own path to my own goal that they were able to achieve.

More than that I also continue to understand my position in the food chain. Am I rich like a Jeff Bezos? No. Am I a millionaire many times over? No. Am I wealthy? Sure. But even as I sit where I am, very comfortably, I also know why I am not a Jeff Bezos. I maintain an honesty with myself. I understand my own limitations and I understand the extent of the opportunities that I have capitalized on, and those that I missed.

Image courtesy of Pixabay, user geralt. Street Sign A Notice Direction - Free photo on Pixabay

I do not have a war cry against the rich. I respect them. I admire them. And I want to learn their secrets.

And more than that, I also appreciate them. Not for what they can give me. But for what I can learn from them, and for the opportunities they offered me throughout my life to be at least a part of the club.

An opportunity that would not exist if the rich did not exist to make it possible.

Lead image courtesy of Pixabay, user Maklay62. Money Dollars Success - Free photo on Pixabay

12
$ 7.78
$ 7.37 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.20 from @Pantera
$ 0.05 from @FarmGirl
+ 5
Avatar for Porwest
2 years ago

Comments

"I've been rich and I've been poor. Rich is better." 😊 There's nothing WRONG with being rich. There's nothing WRONG with being poor. But Jesus painted a very graphic picture when He told the story of the rich man and Lazarus in Luke 16:19-31. I thought it interesting that the poor man is named. He is identified and his name noted for future generations. But the rich man is just ... some cold-hearted guy with a lot of money. The moral of the story is plain. If you have been blessed with wealth, don't be like that "generic rich man". A rich person without human compassion is a spawn of Satan. 😊 😊

$ 0.01
2 years ago

To me a poor man with no aspiration, no desire, and no attempt at being rich is just a lazy, poor man. I cannot condemn a poor man who is not rich who has TRIED to be rich. But I CAN and will condemn a poor man who does nothing to get there. At the same time I cannot and will not condemn a rich man for his wealth who has earned it. But I CAN condemn a rich man who has obtained his wealth with no regard for the contribution his wealth can MAKE for the poor.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Agreed. Basically it's not money that makes us who we are and builds our character.. But I don't think a person has to make an attempt to be rich. But they do have make an attempt not to be a deadbeat, a freeloader, and a burden to other people.

Some people complain that they live from to paycheck to paycheck. I tell them: Yeah but ... you got a paycheck! By comparison. other folks don't have a paycheck and it's not because they can't work! It's because they won't work!

You and I are saying the same thing. Nobody likes a deadbeat who won't carry their own weight; and nobody likes a person with wealth who tramples on others and disregards them as if they don't matter!

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Still, living just paycheck to paycheck is a very problematic thing, as we learned the hard way when the pandemic hit and many people found their paychecks disappeared, tossing the burden of their lack of planning ahead on the shoulders of the rest of us who did.

But I do encourage earning over freeloading. That aside, when you don't properly take care of your finances, and run into trouble, you BECOME a freeloader even if that was not the intent.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Everybody's life situation is different. Hard times can come upon in an instant. We can plan but we can't predict. What's that expression? “The best laid plans of mice and men often go awry.” But the main thing is that people should make an effort to take care of themselves. When the pandemic hit a lot of people were upset because they had to get food from the food bank or charity. Hey! Life happens!

P.S. Sorry if I seem be so chatty about this. I have been in all of these situations in my life. From well off to flat broke! But in every situation I always tried to work. I accepted charity if I needed it and was grateful. But as far as I'm concerned, if I can't be productive and work for myself, LIFE IS USELESS!!

$ 0.01
2 years ago

No worries ever about being chatty with me. I enjoy that. 👍

On the other note, of course I am always one who tries to get people to think beyond a paycheck. In other words, there are many ways to make money. Investing is of course the one thing I espouse the most. Money makes money. I try to encourage people to understand that if they put just a little bit away into something that grows, it makes the value of every dollar they earn greater.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Being not rich is not the Rich's fault I agree, but I see few rich people in the world who enjoy daddy's money, showing off bullying people, those absolutely does not deserve one dime... I also dislike rich who started business to help the needy and provide employment but turned into sick capitalists when the money started to flow in... world hate rich because of these qualities, not because of jealousy.. there is difference

$ 0.01
2 years ago

But of course very little of any of what you said is true. MOST rich are self made. They started out poor and became rich. Most rich ARE capitalists. But it is capitalism which MAKES people rich, and which gives EVERYONE the opportunity to become rich. The difference between the rich and the poor is who decides to take the opportunity and who decides to not take it.

I often like to use an example of the different mindsets of the rich and the poor (and even the middle class). A CEO or businessman who makes millions of dollars a year essentially wins the lottery every single day he goes to work. But he keeps going to work. If a poor man or a middle class man wins the lottery what does he decide to do?

Quit his job.

It is this DRIVE that the rich have which is what separates them from the rest of us on the lower rungs. Everybody always says "we need to help the needy." That's what jobs do. Nobody GAVE the rich their money. They worked for it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

A bit of generalizing here.... one of my uncles won a lottery back in 70s and he did not quit his job of doing basic accountancy that paid him peanuts... he respectfully retired from that job in 2005 even though he had huge house from that money he won.... and my Mom's cousin who owns an entire street of houses stayed humble through out his life and still going to his work like he owns nothing... my point was NEVER about "how rich became rich and how poor became poor" :)))

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Most poor people look at the rich and assume they are the cause of their problem, that they are one of the reasons why they are poor. Some even want the rich to share their wealth amongst the poor, the society is just full of messed up thoughts. Envy and jealousy is on the high, and most people are too lazy to put in the work to make it to the top

$ 0.01
2 years ago

All very true. And it is never intended to make light of poor people or their situation. But in many cases, and again it depends on what country one lives, poverty is self-inflicted.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's like you are admitting that you are wealthy 🙈 People should not envy the rich. Rather make them an inspiration to strive harder so they can reach what the rich had reached, so many reaches..🤣 Lol.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I can only say that I have done very well for myself over the years, for whatever that is worth. I am right there with you. LEARN from the rich and see their wealth as an opportunity for us all to achieve the same if we work hard and learn how to do it.

Anyone can do it. Trust me. I know this first hand. ;)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

If I am working for myself alone, I can call myself as rich enough.. Unfortunately, I am.not alone.. Lol

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Becoming rich has nothing to do with how much you make, or if you are married or single, or if you have kids or don't. It is all about what you save and invest, and how frugal you are with your money. :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Reminded me of something I read before, I am not sure who was it, but he suggested we should not envy or plant any untoward feelings against the rich but learn from them instead. And I agree with you about greed. Wanting more is not all being greedy, but wanting more without doing anything or without costing you a thing is a real greed. I also think that rich people are the initiators of development, progress, industrialization etc.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yep. Your latter statement is absolutely part of what I was driving at here. Many people even go to work and rail against the rich, without realizing they would not have a paycheck without them.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Funny but yes, that's absolutely right.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I do not have a war cry against the rich. I respect them. I admire them. And I want to learn their secrets.

100%. If we respect and not blinded by feelings of jealousy we will understand the risks the wealthy individuals have undertaken and then count our odds if we can also make it there.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

My sentiments exactly. To me seeing the rich only serves to show me it is possible to become rich.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I think that the rich do need to pay their fair share and they also need to be held accountable more often. The society we live in today allows people with money to get away with atrocious acts while the little people get put in the slammer for way less. Money defines who you are in this world and I think we as a people need to redefine what makes someone important.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I actually disagree with this, and it makes me wonder if you read my article. The rich contribute almost everything we have and enjoy in this world. They pay way more than their fair share in what they provide us.

Just my two cents.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I did read your article. I was just voicing my opinion. If you think that the rich give all they should give then that is your opinion. If you look at how the world really is then that is a different story. I personally hate getting things for free and love working for what I want and need. I do think that we the little people should be paid more than we are and paid an actual living wage. Between me and my wife working, we barely have enough to get by each month. I would love to save and have a plan for the future but no matter how hard I work I will still be paid $12 an hour unless I find a better job which takes time and skills. My wife makes $10. We work 40 hours a week each. That comes out to $880 a week before taxes between the two of us. This comes out to a little over $3,000 a month. Sounds pretty good until you add in rent, car payment, bills, food, clothes, gas, water, electricity, phone bill, child care, and whatever fun things you might want to do. Normally left with only a couple hundred extra a month. save for a year and you end up saving around $2,500. So in 10 years, I would have saved 25,000. Ten years! The uber-rich make this in 10 days. Something is not adding up.

I do understand where your coming from though. It does take hard work to get to where they are. Maybe I am just butt hurt because I was not able to get there. At least not yet. Maybe if I was rich my thought process would be different but life is hard sometimes so of course, I am going to be jealous in a way.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

"It takes time and skills." Yes. Look, I do not discount anyone's situation. But why should someone just get something they think they deserve? You say you want to earn it, not have it given to you. But in a sense, that's really what you are asking for.

Not scolding you by the way. Just sharing my opinion as well.

If you think you are worth X amount, the question is why? What do you do? What do you contribute?

I actually wrote an article on this topic yesterday but won't be publishing it for a few days.

Time and skills is what the rich seek in order to become rich. They work very hard for what they earn. And their time and skills, and INVESTMENT of their money to create the businesses that contribute to you getting a paycheck at all is how they give back to you and I.

If I don't want to take the time to get the skills or get a better job, whose fault is that? The company who pays you what they can afford to pay you or yours? It's yours.

By the way, do you know how to read a balance sheet? I only ask because most people who expect employers to pay a certain amount don't know how to read them. And as a result don't have any idea how much money a company actually has to pay its employees.

If a company just gives you what you want as opposed to what they have...eventually the business will be no more and you won't have to worry about what they pay you. There will be no business to provide a job and therefore no paycheck.

It is not the responsibility nor obligation of an employer to pay you what you need. It is YOUR responsibility to seek out employment and the work necessary to get a job that takes care of your needs.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I understand what you are saying. I really do, but what I am saying is actually pay a living wage. Everyone is worth a living wage. I am not saying my skills are worth more because the skills I have I have learned for personal gain. Not for the money but for life lessons. I like my job I just do not like the pay. I honestly could care less about this. I just wanted to voice my opinion. I am not against the rich. I am against companies not paying a living wage. If I did not have my beautiful and amazing wife I would be struggling to get by every month and be forced to live in a horrible neighborhood just because the rich want to stay rich no matter who they have to hurt to stay there.

I think that everyone should be paid enough to afford living expenses and also be able to have a little to save. Every single person.

I have no idea how to read a balance sheet because I have never had to. I know for a fact I could learn how to read and understand them in little to no time. I just do not need to. I understand these companies have expenses but I think that the ones at the top could cut their wages just a fraction to change the way the companies work and treat their employees.

This is finally being realized by the masses. It sucks it has taken a world problem to bring it to light but this is the world we live in.

Also, I am not rich so I do not know how it all works. What I do know is people are mad and this will not last forever, something has to change and I think we are in the process of seeing it unfold.

I really appreciate you talking to me about this. I love being able to discuss world issues with someone without either party being emotionally triggered. I appreciate your ideas and I am now a fan.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

But this is where people go wrong. A company can only pay what they can pay. People mistakenly believe companies are simply made of money. It's just not true. Companies pay what they can afford to pay. I also believe, having analyzed jobs, that most jobs pay exactly what they SHOULD pay.

Not all jobs are, nor are intended to be careers. Take fast food, for example. Who would honestly believe that flipping burgers would be a career path? This is not a job that will ever offer a future, for the most part. It is the kind of job you do when you are starting out and working on different skills to do something better later.

The rich are not making you poor, nor are they stealing from you. You have simply made a choice to work for a company in a job that pays X amount. If that is not enough, it is not the company's fault, nor is the fault of the rich that you are still there expecting more. It's yours. The choice is simple. Go get a better paying job. :) If you don't have the skills, go and get the skills. If you do neither of these things...again, you do not DESERVE more than what you get.

No one owes anybody anything. Everyone owes it to themselves to be their own person, and take on personal responsibility to get what they need and want out of life. The rich did not get rich sitting around waiting for things to fall in their lap. They went out and worked for it.

As for the people at the top cutting their wages to support the employees, this is just another example of why you need to know how to read a balance sheet before you make that kind of statement. You also need to be able to functionally use a calculator. Because what seems like a lot of money on paper in reality is not that much.

I presented an example recently where I erased the entire $25 million salary of the Walmart CEO and gave it to every single employee in the company. Each person got $5. Not per hour. Not per week. Not per month. Per YEAR. $5 won't change your life, and stealing it from the guy at the top serves no one any purpose. Cut these wages just a fraction as you suggested, and you might get 1/10th of a penny a year. This seem like a good deal to you?

At the end of the day, I don't know what country you live in. But in the United States opportunity abounds. People can even invest in these businesses. Most people don't want to know how and don't bother to try. That's why they are poor. And that's why they will always be poor. The rich figure it out. That's why they are rich.

I am glad you are here, and am happy to exchange thoughts. And you are welcome to share your thoughts any time.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I have no idea what I am talking about to be totally honest. I am going to check out the balance sheets and see what exactly you are talking about.

You officially have me questioning my thought process and making me ask myself why I am really mad at how much others make.

I think life has made me mad at the rich because I am not rich. You are right though. I need to stop being mad and do something about it.

I appreciate you taking the time and giving me your thoughts on the matter. I have the wrong outlook on the rich maybe. This is just the way I have looked at it my whole life and now I know that it is only because I am not rich and wasted the majority of my life on drugs.

I do not think about how many employees the company has and how many buildings and other payments they have. This has opened my eyes and has me thinking outside of the box.

I am glad you are here as well. I am going to do some research and see what you are talking about. I am sure I will find out I have this all wrong.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I want to be rich someday :/

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Anything is possible. Study how the rich became rich, and voila! You are on your way. :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago