Life Can Sometimes Make Me Crabby

14 55
Avatar for Porwest
2 years ago
Topics: Work, Personal, Thoughts, Earning, Freedom, ...

"I am not trying to be crabby."

These are words I am finding myself saying more often to my wife these days. And I'm really not.

Trying to be crabby, that is.

Sponsors of Porwest
empty
empty
empty

But life can sometimes make me crabby despite my best effort for it to not be that way.

Even after a week long vacation that my wife and I took to Cape San Blas, Florida, which was beautiful and relaxing, you'd think that it would have had the effect of fully recharging my batteries.

Image courtesy of Pixabay, user jayers. Crab Crabby Angry - Free image on Pixabay

But it didn't. I'm still crabby.

I think it comes down to the fact that sometimes life can just be very demanding of our time. And of course, it is supposed to be that way. My life is really no different than the lives of others. We just all have things that we have to do.

You get up, you go to work, you come home and make dinner, and you go to bed. Spin and repeat five days a week. During the week because work consumes so much of the day, there really isn't much to do that you want to do. You are basically just going through the motions and doing what is necessary.

Monday through Friday, fun is effectively cancelled.

So, then you get to the weekend. Ah. Freedom. Or is it? Relaxation. Or is it? Fun on the horizon. Or is it?

Image courtesy of Pixabay, user bugent. Balloons Spring Nature - Free image on Pixabay

All the things you could not get done during the week now become things that you have to spend your time getting done during the weekend. Not that some of these things aren't completely enjoyable, mind you. But it still becomes a bit more like the routine of the week with the weekend things just being different things you have to do than you had to do during the week.

It's usually getting the grass cut and other yardwork done. It's getting the grocery shopping done and running other errands to replenish certain household items. It's getting laundry done, or cleaning up the house, or tidying up the garage.

And of course, when it comes to the wife and I, our priorities are different. What we like to do is different. And sometimes this causes a little bit of head butting.

I like to write. I like to spend a little time tooling around social media platforms like this one and noise. I like to play my guitar and record music. Sometimes I like to create my own music.

Image courtesy of Pixabay, user geralt. Grades Guitar Violin Treble - Free image on Pixabay

And sometimes I just want to be lazy. It's as simple as that. Sometimes I just want to do whatever I want to do, because so often I feel like my weekdays are filled with doing things that someone else wants me to do.

I get crabby because sometimes I feel like like me time is never something I will be able to have. And I get crabby because sometimes I feel like if I try to have some me time, doing things that I want to do, I am only going to get scolded for it.

And then there is the thought that I have had for quite some time now that there has to be more to life than just going about the day doing things everyone else wants me to do. I feel the same thing for my wife.

I don't want her to have to spend all of her time, her me time, doing things that she feels has to be done rather than doing things that I know she would rather be doing.

Retirement is both an option and a non-option for us. We can technically afford to retire. But there is a huge caveat in making that decision, and that caveat is the cost of private health insurance.

It would simply eat up money faster than is practical, siphoning off the one thing that retirement is supposed to be able to afford one.

Image courtesy of Pixabay, user geralt. Man Retirement Home Person - Free image on Pixabay

Fun time and me time.

In other words, we would just be back to square one without having to go to work. We'd have to cut out all the things that we'd want to do in retirement that we could not do before due to the constraints of work.

So I get crabby. I get crabby because I still can't do necessarily what I want to do. And I get crabby because I have not found a workable solution around that reality.

Will I ever? Of course I will. I am confident in that. But in the meantime, I may still be a little bit crabby.

Lead image courtesy of Pixabay, user jayers. Crab Crabby Angry - Free image on Pixabay

10
$ 4.97
$ 4.61 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Pantera
$ 0.05 from @beastion
+ 5
Avatar for Porwest
2 years ago
Topics: Work, Personal, Thoughts, Earning, Freedom, ...

Comments

I love this article. Mainly because the fact that it's so relatable. To be honest - this is what I fear will happen to me after I finish my university studies. Not having time to do things I love or the things I'm planning to do. I fear that it will be just work every day and then another work. Sadly I think everyone will experience this one time... In the end I just wanted to say: thank you for this article, it really has a point and is written nicely, as always :)

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thank you. Hopefully you won't have to suffer the dregs of humdrum like me. lol

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Crabby? That literally is my life's definition. I mean as much I want to relax and have time for myself, I can't do so. With this pandemic haunting everyone, definitely not.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Well, luckily here in the United States we are just getting on with life. But I am still crabby. lol

$ 0.00
2 years ago

What a coincidence. I get crabby for almost the same reason as you.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I think most of us gets crabby because like you said you cannot do “me time” the way you want it to be because we have to consider a lot of things before we do fully the things we want.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yep. Truth here. Now if I can only pull the trigger on retirement. This could very much solve my problem instantly. lol

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yup - the 'modern' life with all its super comforts (compared to the pre-industrial revolution life) has just meant that we spend 18 years of our lives to prepare for college and another few years to prepare to work and then work, work, work because that's the only way to survive. We enjoy these modern comforts for a maximum of 4 hours a day and maybe when we vacation 2 weeks a year. The rest of the time is just spent beating up our body, mind, and soul to sustain ourselves with salaries for 5-6 days in a week and recuperating partially from this madness over the weekend!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's okay to get crabby from time to time. I feel your sentiments there and maybe in one weekend, you can have your 'lazy' day :)

$ 0.01
2 years ago

We all get a little crabby. It just happens. Granted, for me it has become a trend. Working on being less so. :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You remind me of Mr. Crabs.

'Can't wait for my real life to begin, yay!', I say while having a chip on one hand, a cheese slice on the other, an open bottle of Thums Up here while the Sun is coming up.

Did I mention I've been watching food videos on YouTube since 10 pm?

You should really consider spending your retirement days here. Healthcare is cheap.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Mr. Crabs, hey? And yes, I now understand the food references. lol.

Hmm. Retirement in India. Will they let me eat a hamburger there?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Mr Krabs from SpongeBob SquarePants. Tandoori Paneer Burgers are available though :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ah. I should have put that together. But of course I do not watch Spongebob. lol

$ 0.00
2 years ago