I Don't Want to Work Today

0 41
Avatar for Porwest
1 year ago
Topics: Blog, Money, Philosophy, Work, Jobs, ...

What if the short answer is simply that today I just don't feel like working? No particular reason, I suppose, other than it is a Monday, the year is almost finished, I have pretty much made my money for the year and—perhaps I just don't really give a damn at this point?

Isn't that enough?

Don't we all reach a point like that from time to time? I am not even particularly burned out. Do I have to be to have this attitude today?

Or can I just have it? For no particular reason at all? Absent of any justifiable rationale or reason? Can I just simply say to my boss, "Hey, you've gotten what you have gotten out of me and I can offer no more at this point?"

Besides, as I have stated many times in the past, I have other means. The paycheck for me is an added bonus in addition to all the other things I do that make money for me. The paycheck, for all intents and purposes is complimentary.

Besides, my pay structure is multi-based. In other words, I am paid both an hourly base rate as well as a commission. I am in sales, if I have not mentioned that before, although I am sure I have.

Because I "own" my accounts and most of the accounts are very well established, sales can often happen rather organically. In other words, while they are certainly not automatic, they can be. Or, at least, a lot of the time they are.

I can do nothing else all day but track my emails and texts and take the occasional call-in and I make money.

No work necessary if I don't really want to. Or, in this case, if I don't feel like working for it. If I don't feel like pushing the envelope. If I don't feel like going the extra mile today.

Is that selfish of me? Nah. Not really. Consider it this way, I have produced the result already for what I may make today as a result of all that prior hard work I put in. I have essentially, in my mind, earned the right to skate a little bit from time to time if I so choose. I am well within my ability to ride a little bit on the coat tails of what I did before today.

It will also not impact me in any negative way if I spend my time, instead, doing other things that make me money because technically, by my doing that, the company does not miss out on any money either.

Image by Porwest. Just another picture of our warehouse cat, Cal, taking a breather.

Because the work I have already done is still paying off.

Beyond that, it is not like I am selling vacuum cleaners to old ladies and then hoping they need parts to fix something broken. I am in B2B—business to business—meaning, the customer that I sell too are always in need of something on my shelf.

Always.

They run concrete mixer batch plants and concrete mixer trucks. They have multiple plants and multiple trucks on the road.

All of these activities these businesses are engaged in need a lot of parts to keep them up and running and making money. And so the phone never stops ringing. The emails never stop coming. And neither do the texts.

So, the money will roll regardless of whether or not, on this fine lazy Monday, I sit on my ass or bust the grind.

Don't get me wrong. I am still at work. I am still physically here in the office. But I have effectively also taken the day off aside from the routine of processing the orders which is the only thing I cannot not do today.

I will be back at it tomorrow. Or not. We will see if I feel the need to put in any extra if the wheels lock up a bit on me on the organic part.

Lead image by Porwest. Our warehouse Cat, Cal, having a lazy day.

Sponsors of Porwest
empty
empty
empty

3
$ 0.27
$ 0.27 from @Telesfor
Avatar for Porwest
1 year ago
Topics: Blog, Money, Philosophy, Work, Jobs, ...

Comments