When Kids Don't Listen I Use Memes...

6 26
Avatar for Plint
Written by
2 years ago
Topics: Teaching, Fun, Personal, Blog, Life

I am quite new to the whole meme-making thing, but I got really into it last year. I am a teacher and like everyone I had to deal with working from home and let me tell you: it is even harder to make kids do their homework at home than at school! I grew more and more frustrated with time and it was time for a solution...

I started out sending reminders to all the kids that didn't hand in their homework. But the response I got was pretty non-existent and it costed me a lot of time...
So I was looking for a way to motivate kids to hand in their homework and since whining or being grumpy usually doesn't work (and doesn't make me happy) I decided to look for a more positive way to get them to make their homework: I would send them reminders with cat memes...

I know this sounds ridiculous but it worked! Instead of being grumpy that I had disturbed them many kids laughed and even sent their own memes back, along with their homework!

As I teach history I also tried to make some historical ones to keep to the theme like these ones:

I used this for the third years who were working on the Soviet Union.

When working on the Middle Ages I came across this picture and decided to use it

I can really recommend using memes to get things done, especially when working online as people care a lot less about getting things done in time! It made the general atmosphere better and I got a record amount of homework handed in!

7
$ 4.26
$ 4.06 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @ChristinaMadart
$ 0.05 from @CoquiCoin
+ 2
Sponsors of Plint
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Plint
Written by
2 years ago
Topics: Teaching, Fun, Personal, Blog, Life

Comments

Execelente estrategia amiga. Con los niƱos y adolescentes hay que ingeniar mil estrategias jijijiji...felicidades eres muy buena docente

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This is very clever of you. My teenage son lives watching memes throughout the day. And he teases me that I don't understand half of them, LOL. This is a creative and fun way to catch the attention of children these days.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thanks a lot! Yeah it is incredible how many memes they watch all day haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's a smart one from you, teachers around the world have been adopting new systems of teaching since they are working from home and I believe your way of sending reminders is awesome.

It would make them laugh but they will understand how serious you are.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thanks a lot! Yeah I think everyone has become quite creative sitting from home, but I hope we can just sit in a classroom all year this year!

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Despite the creativity we develop from home, it can't compare to how much motivation will get lecturing the student directly in a class room.

$ 0.00
2 years ago