Weekend of Beer Miles and Beach

5 25
Avatar for Plint
Written by
2 years ago
Topics: Fun, Sport, Personal, Blog, Weekend

Hi everyone! Hope you all had a great weekend! I have had a weekend of extremes haha. From extremely tired to pretty energetic, from hungover to happy etc.... and it all started with the Beer Mile....

The Beer Mile.....

So some friends wanted to come visit since we moved and they said oh actually we will be in Alkmaar for a beer mile, why don't you guys join us? Me, thinking oh fun beer drinking and pretending to exercise I can do that, said yes. Little did I know...

When we arrived at the CrossFit that organized this event we saw a lot of very competitive people and a clock and we got worried...

So for those of you that don't know a beer mile is a mile of running and chugging beer. The mile (1.6 km) was divided in 4 laps of 400 meters and prior to starting every 400m you had to chug a can of beer (so 4 beers in total).

You have to finish your beer before you can leave the lit up square and start running. They record your time and the overall fastest wins... more beer! If you puked in between you had to run a penalty lap. So first of all I am pretty out of shape, can't remember the last time I ran at all. But I like drinking beer! Or I did...

Here you can see me already thinking: what the hell have I gotten myself into... But I am proud to say I finished with a time of 13 mins 50 secs and that landed me somewhere in the middle. This was honestly a lot harder than I thought! And the drinking part was way harder than the running part!

The Beach

The next day I woke up both sore and hungover (not a winning combination) and decided a chill day at the beach would make me feel better, so I met up with a friend for a chat and a chill in the sand. The weather wasn't that great (this whole summer hasn't in the Netherlands) but if you drink a cocktail well it feels like summer right?

Decided to stick to the one cocktail, did not want a repeat of the night before!

The rest of the weekend I took it pretty chill, Sunday the weather was horrible so I started a new book (Murakami) and cleaned the house a bit. All ready for a new week!

How was your weekend?

3
$ 2.74
$ 2.68 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @George_Dee
$ 0.01 from @Porwest
Sponsors of Plint
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Plint
Written by
2 years ago
Topics: Fun, Sport, Personal, Blog, Weekend

Comments

The weekend didn't go as planned but it was hanging out with myself in the house all. I did football all through and was disappointed with the weekend results.

I haven't seen such a game before, didn't you get tipsy while running?

$ 0.01
2 years ago

You don't really get tipsy while you run, just a lot of burping haha. But as soon as you stop running you get pretty tipsy!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I have to admit that my weekend was not at all as eventful (or painful) as yours was, but it was good enough for me. I drank plenty of beer too, but I always drink plenty of beer. 4 would not do me in, but I don't think that is necessarily a brag—I might be a real lush. lol

As for the beer mile, that may have been something that would have been fun in my 20s. But pushing 50 it might kill me now.

So, I will enjoy your take on what it is and how it went. lol

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Haha thanks! 4 beers usually doesn't do me in either, but for beers within 15 minutes was a bit more than usual haha

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yeah. 4 in 15 even for a seasoned alcoholic might present a few problems. lol

$ 0.00
2 years ago