This Picture Brings Back So Many Memories

7 25
Avatar for Plint
Written by
1 year ago

So I am currently at a place that I hold very dear in my heart. I have been coming here for over 25 years, first with my parents, my grandparents and now with my fiance. And everytime I come here and I look from the terrace this is the view I see:

Welcome to Torgon, Switzerland! The history of my family goes back way further than mine with this place. My grandparents bought an apartment in this tiny Swiss village in 1974. They fell in love with the place, near the Lake of Geneva, in the high hills with views of amazing mountains all around you: Diablerets and the Mont Blanc Massif. When my grandmother was no longer able to go here herself my aunt took over the property. I have been coming to this place since I was just a small girl. I always loved being here and sitting on this terrace and seeing that view just makes me happy!

We are currently in the apartment as we speak, I have taken my fiance to this spot for the very first time. I felt very vulnurable actually taking him up her. It is kind of like introducing your best friend and hoping they get along. Obviously I hope to take our future children here one day and hope they will love it as much as I do, but I need to have the fiance love it as much as me of course. Luckily he loves it too!

Last night I had quite an emotional moment in the apartment actually. We have an old guesbook here, which we use with the family members who visit to update each other on the weather, what we did and nice places we visited. I went all the way to the start of the guestbook and actually found an entry of my grandmother, from 2004. It was the last time she was here, for her 75th birthday. She has passed away about 4 years ago and it was really nice, but also emotional to see her written account of when she was here. I still miss her very much so it was great to see a piece of her still here, in the place she loved so much in the middle of the Swiss mountains.

So I guess this place reminds me of my favorite vacations, happy moment, a valuable person and a moment with nature all in the same time!

4
$ 1.68
$ 1.62 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.02 from @akagaminoDneloy
$ 0.02 from @Talecharm
+ 2
Sponsors of Plint
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Plint
Written by
1 year ago

Comments

Wow.. That place is wonderful. As obviously the entire Switzerland is. You are very lucky to live in Switzerland . It’s my dream to have a little house there in Geneva. By the way about your article, yes! There are certain places that has your entire heart and you love them. I have one such place too. It is the place where my grandparents used to live and I have spent a very long time of my childhood there

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Isn't it funny how we all prescribe such happy memories to our grandparents? Lovely to read you have the same!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Exactly, because grandparents are those who love you more than anything and memories made with them are just one of a kind

$ 0.00
1 year ago

My condolence for your grandmother. I highly believe that she's living upper layer of paradise

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Thank you for your kind words!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Seeing the photo I understand your feelings, it is spectacular that place ... it is a place full of stories of the past, present and possibly in the future will be part of your life.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Exactly! Thanks for stopping by :)

$ 0.00
1 year ago