The New Focus System On Splinterlands: Mission Impossible

0 38
Avatar for Plint
Written by
1 year ago

So as you all know we switched on Splinterlands from quests to focus system. Before you could get rewards based on completing your quest and the higher your rank the better your rewards. When the focus point system was first announced I was intruiged, but now I am worried.

When you receive a new focus you have 24 hours to unlock as many chests as you can. To get one chest you must get at least 300 FP or Focus Points. And now here is where the trouble starts. For people like me, who don't have a lot of cards and who did not invest a lot of money into Splinterlands, it is prett much impossible to get 300 focus points in 24 hours. It would mean having to win 300 games in a day, meaning I would have to play around 500 games to get to 300 win games just to get 1 single chest. This is crazy, I have a job and a life and no time to be playing 500 games a day.

The Issue

The issue is that you can points substracted for using standard cards, or cards that all players of the game have access to. I understand why Splinterlands does this, you want people to invest in the game and get the cards. But for those like me, who do not have lots of money to invest it means one of two things: 1 start investing lots of money to get cards or 2 rent cards to get enough so that you can win your focus points.

As you can see lots of factors influence the amount of FP you can earn, you get rewarded for using better cards or having a win streak and you get punished for using starter cards.
This means, I my eyes that the people who have just started and who enjoyed the game, got mediocre rewards because they played in a pretty low league are now faced with an impossible task. I for one, am not sure if I want to keep playing at all because it has now become impossible for me to ever open a chest....

What are your experiences? Are you happy with the system? Any tips for me?

3
$ 1.80
$ 1.78 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.02 from @mypathtofire
Sponsors of Plint
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Plint
Written by
1 year ago

Comments