Sunday Roast

6 52
Avatar for Plint
Written by
2 years ago

The weekend is of course the perfect time to spend cooking. Not the stress of every day and more time to make a nice meal. A tradition that we took from our time living in the UK was making a roast on Sunday. A roast can be anything really but the main parts are: a nice piece of meat from the oven, some roasted potatoes, Yorkshire puddings and of course, vegetables. Oh and gravy of course!

Making the Roast

The easy part is the potatoes and carrots: I boil them first and then roast them off in the oven, giving them a nice crisp. Sometimes I also do parsnip, especially in the winter. They are great from the oven. But really any veg would work.

In this case I made cauliflower cheese, boil some cauliflower, make a bechamel, top it with some cheese and pop in the over to finish it until golden.

The Yorkshire Puddings: For my partner these are the highlight. I have to say that during my time in Yorkshire I grew fond of them as well. They are very simple to make with just flower, milk, eggs and a pinch of salt. For a nice recipe look here: https://www.bbc.co.uk/food/recipes/yorkshire_pudding_69240

The Meat: here again you have many options. On the first picture I went for chicken thighs, as they stay nice and juicy. I cover them in a nice coat of herbs (if you are feeling adventurous you can give them a yoghurt and tikka massala rub, giving it an Indian twist) just pop them in the oven and voila.

Other option include gammon or ham joint, roast beef or if you are feeling less like a heavy meal you could put salmon in the oven to keep things lighter. You can of course also go for a vegetarian option as well. We have made quiche to accompany it at times

Weekend Meals

I hope I gave you some ideas for a nice weekend meal. I love this because it is a nice homey meal, but also doesn't require crazy cooking techniques. Of course I am very curious what your weekend meal is, let me know what you make?

4
$ 3.61
$ 3.48 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @George_Dee
$ 0.05 from @CoquiCoin
+ 1
Sponsors of Plint
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Plint
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

Huhuhu I am starving right now and then I stumble upon this article of yours. I really have to grab my lunch.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Haha sorry!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nice meal, I love the fact that preparing it is not stressful. I don't know what I will do for the weekend yet but I am having a particular snack in mind, I will just try to see if I can make it for the family over the weekend.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Nice one, will be curious to see what your snack will be!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm leaving for the supermarket to do the shopping and I will make sure I have what I need for a roast this weekend. You left me craving one, hehe

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Haha I think I made myself hungry writing it as well!

$ 0.00
2 years ago