Spending New Years With The Song I Hate

3 29
Avatar for Plint
Written by
2 years ago

Another weekend and another engagement topic in the Weekend community on Hive and I was happy to see a topic that I am not familiar with blogging about at all! I think that is the beauty of the engagement topic, it draws you out of your comfort zone and allows you to think outside the box.

Now I love music, but option number 5 about a song that grinds my gears won, because not only do I have a song that grinds my gears, but I have also been forced for half my life to listen to that song at midnight during New Years.

The Top 2000

So this needs a bit of a background story, but I live in the Netherlands and there is a tradition that between Christmas and New Year a radio station airs the Top 2000, a hitlist of all the ages compiled by the Dutch public. It is a hugely popular thing, basically everybody is glued to the radio for a week. The grand finale is at midnight on New Years Eve when they start the new year with playing the number one song! And no matter who you celebrate with, this is what everyone will be watching or listening to at midnight. Don't get me wrong I love the Top 2000 and spend the whole week listening to the radio as well, but there is one issue...

I Hate The Number 1

The Dreaded Song

So you can probably guess by now that Bohemian Rhapsody by Queen is the song I cannot stand.... I like queen, but I always thought Bohemian Rhapsody was too long, too weird and just not great. The downside is that my country completely disagrees with me because in 23 editions of the Top 2000 it has been the number one 18 times....

So every year while everyone is getting the champagne ready, I am getting ready to listen to the song that grinds my gears for 5mins and 55 seconds, every year again....
Most of my friends now find it hilarious that I don't like this song and will play it even louder at midnight. I guess I am just counting on the change of Dutch population over the years that will surely change voting behavior, right? right?

Anyway there you have it, I hope to find a lot of nice (and maybe some not so nice) music through you all in this weekend engagement! Enjoy the final bit of weekend and good luck this week!

6
$ 4.47
$ 4.31 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Pantera
$ 0.05 from @King_Gozie
+ 1
Sponsors of Plint
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Plint
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

I've heard that song and it's fine for me. However, it's not my type hihi.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

An amazing song๐Ÿ˜ I vote for it every year. Sorry ๐Ÿ˜‚

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Aha it is you!

$ 0.00
2 years ago