My First Steps in the WAXey world of NFT's

6 30
Avatar for Plint
Written by
2 years ago

So I hear a lot of crypto peeps talking about NFT's and what they are doing on the WAX blockchain. And I would nod and smile I have absolutely no clue what these people were talking about. But as I am a big girl and independent woman, I decided to figure it out and get started!

What is WAX?

So WAX is a blockchain for NFTs, so you can send and receive Non-Fungible Tokens there. It also hosts a plethora of dApps or different interfaces and sites where you can do things: games, marketplaces etc.

The blockchain has its native token WAXP (WAX).

I was interested because people are making money on it, and I love making money!

Getting Started

You don't need much to get started: a WAX wallet and some WAX and you are ready to go. At wallet.wax.io you can easily make a wallet.

When you have done that it looks like this! You see what NFT's you have, can select to use different dApps and stake WAX tokens to get staking rewards. You are now on the right path!

Getting it to Work

So I was ready to work some magic, but then I got a lot of error codes. Turns out, you need to put some WAX in, or get some from your prince charming, to get started. Three things are important on the WAX blockchain: CPU, NET and RAM, don't worry these have nothing to do with your computer performance, but relate to the blockchain themselves. In order to buy things and have the power to actually store them and process them, you need these things. If you click on resources on the right hand side you will see what you have:

In order to increase these you need to stake some WAX. RAM is the most important, but doesn't require a big amount to function. But without RAM most dApps are unavailable.

Getting WAX

So this turned out to be the hardest of all! You can buy WAX on multiple exchanges and send it over. Sounds easy? Well, since lots of exchanges have a minimum and I am only a small crypto player it was a bit of a search. I ended up getting $50 worth from Binance and sending that over (horrible binance experience btw, to purchase with euro was a nightmare). Anyway, the WAX will end up on the left top and you can stake some to increase your RAM, CPU and NET. You will get staking rewards for that that will go back into the staking pool, yay!

Now What?

So now it is time to have some fun! I would recommend going to https://wax.atomichub.io/ where you can buy and trade NFTs and often pick up some free ones. https://neftyblocks.com/ is also a good one to pick up some free NFTs. I also tried Alien Worlds, will write another post on that soon!

You are now one of the cool kids involved with NFTs, enjoy it! Let me know how you fare and I will post some more WAX blockchain fun to come!

6
$ 6.63
$ 6.58 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Cryptozeug
Sponsors of Plint
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Plint
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

I am so curious with this NFT but have no enough courage to take risk. Maybe I'll try this some other time.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I would say I am pretty risk averse. Luckily you can do a lot without investing lots of money in!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Good, you tried Alien Worlds. It's also a possibility to get some free WAX in combination with https://wax.alcor.exchange/ But I thing you already know that. Good luck with your NFT journey.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Oh I didn't know that yet, that looks interesting! I'll definately check that out, thanks!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's a good option to exchange all the ingame token to WAX or everything else. Very useful if you want to start from zero. Free TLM from Alien Worlds and here we go.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yeah I was thinking that, gather TLM and then exchanging it for WAX. I do find Alien Worlds a bit buggy at times though!

$ 0.00
2 years ago