Milestone Weekend

2 20
Avatar for Plint
Written by
2 years ago

I hope you all had a great weekend! I sure did and it was a milestone weekend, but not for me but for my dad. He turned 60 this weekend and we had a party to celebrate!

Both my parents turned 60 this year and it does feel different! They seem to be heading for a new phase, thinking ahead of retirement and comfortable life. But before that we had to party!

So my parents decided go big or go home. They rented a tent (October can be pretty cold), got a big bbq and plenty of booze. We got there early on the Saturday to help them set up. It turned out to be a lovely day, but still having a tent was nice. I spent most of the morning blowing up balloons and making the tent a bit more cozy

A True Dutch Birthday

Then in true Dutch style the family had made a song for the birthday boy. In the Netherlands it is very common to write songs for special occasions. First up were my fathers siblings, dressed up for it too:

Then it was the turn of my and my two sisters, luckily I don't have pictures of that haha and I will save you the video. Turns out we have other qualities than singing.

Lighting the Fire

After some singing it was time to throw meat on the BBQ. Two cousins were happy to work the grill and did really well as the rest of us ate, drank and was merry.

Later on in the eve it was time to light a nice campfire as well in the garden. Nothing beats a nice fire to sit by, stare in to the flames and have some drinks.

We also decided to roast some marshmallows and make 'smores with the kids. They are getting to that age now where this is fun to do, they can follow directions and have a bit more patience now. We sat outside until about 1 am when we ran out of wood for the fire and this was a good sign to tell us to go to bed. Woke up with a slight headache the next day, but all worth it!

What was the last milestone you celebrated?

5
$ 5.87
$ 5.82 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.03 from @CoquiCoin
$ 0.01 from @trixdawson
+ 1
Sponsors of Plint
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Plint
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

You had a nice celebration. It can be seen from the pictures you enjoyed it. Happy belated Birthday to your father!

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thanks a lot, we had a blast!

$ 0.00
2 years ago