Lac de Taney: My Hidden Gem in Switzerland

5 40
Avatar for Plint
Written by
1 year ago

I am currently in Switzerland, in a place very dear to my heart. My family has an apartment in Switzerland in the beautiful mountains near the lake of Geneva and I have been coming here since I was very young.

Now I am here again and want to share my favorite spot with you. It is kind of a hidden gem, it requires quite the walk to get there, but especially now in the off season, you have the place virtually to yourself. I present Lac de Taney:

The Road

We took the car to the town of Miex and went on foot from there. It is a pretty steep path that will go up for about 1 hour- 1h20 depending on your fitness and how many breaks you want to take. The walk up itself is beautiful too, giving you great views across the valley. I would recommend to go on a sunny day for the best views, like the ones we had:

After your climb you will find the tiny village of Taney, in the summer there are two restaurants where you can have a drink or a bite to eat. Since we are in the off season now they were closed, we even had some snow on the path still!

You can walk around the lake on a beautiful route and, in the summer, even dare to take a plunge in the lake. Though mind you, it is water straight from the mountains, so as cold as it gets! I put my hand in it yesterday and it remained frozen for quite a while! We decided to have our lunch at the lake and take some pictures. We were also celebrating our 4 year anniversary!

The walk to the other side of the lake is lovely as well, it goes through the treeline and brings you to the more picture perfect side of the lake. As you can see I was very happy while walking around there:

Then we started our way back, we didn't want to go the same way back as we came so we decided on a circular route, which brought us to a viewpoing over the valley where we could also see Lac Leman, or the Lake of Geneva.

After this point though the route becomes pretty steep while it drops down to the village. Our poor feet and knees got a bit sore as it was really dteeply declining. After about 5 hours (with a very generous stop for lunch) we came back to the car!

8
$ 9.58
$ 9.53 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.02 from @Sequoia
$ 0.02 from @Jijisaur
+ 1
Sponsors of Plint
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Plint
Written by
1 year ago

Comments

Switzerland is a paradise for meeeee. Huhu. When will I ever get there?

$ 0.01
1 year ago

That mountain is so pretty! The view is unmatchable! One day I like to visit Switzerland!

$ 0.01
1 year ago

I hope you do, it is incredible here!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

You're so lucky with such an area there! I live near a mountain and I know how good it is in the fresh air!

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Oh yes, mountain air is the best!

$ 0.00
1 year ago