How Lockdown Made Me Love Christmas Again

4 33
Avatar for Plint
Written by
2 years ago

Hope you are all doing well and looking forward to the end of this year with the holidays fast approaching. I had a bit of a shock when I saw what the contest would be this week, because... I am not the biggest fan of Christmas. Though that did change last year in the lockdown, so I will tell you about my very very new Christmas tradition!

Why I am a bit of a Grinch

So people usually get a bit upset when I tell them I am not much of a Christmas person. I know some people cannot wait until Christmas comes around, but I am not really fussed. But as you will see in this article, it turned out I just celebrated it wrong all those years!

So growing up I never really cared much for Christmas, the Dutch don't do presents for Christmas and my mother always had the flu (I kid you not, like 4 years in a row my mother had the flu for Christmas). Then my parents got divorced when I was 9 years old and Christmas became a battle field. They both wanted me for Christmas and they didn't want the other parent to have anything really haha. So by the time Christmas came around I was already sick of all the bickering. And this has kind of continued until last year...

The Turnaround

So after all these years of grumpy me on Christmas (and weeks before already when families started bickering again about who got what Christmas day) I was pretty happy when last year there was a lock down for Christmas. No family at all for me! So me and my boyfriend decided to have a small celebration and a dinner together instead. And man I am a fan now!

We started with opening the liquor cabinet, an excellent choice. We had some nice drinks before the dinner, getting our buzz on. We lit lots of candles, put some nice music on and made a nice two course meal for ourselves. We first made a nice fish course.

And then we had a nice piece of roasted meat for the main course. After that we settled down and watched a movie.

It was by far the most lovely and stress-free Christmas of my life. So we decided to make a new tradition: just us two, no family, no stress. Just a lovely meal together being thankful for what we have! It means a lot to me, after so many unhappy Christmas celebrations with just fights and stress. I hope everyone will have a relaxing Christmas.

So wishing all

4
$ 2.19
$ 2.01 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @WanderingMedStudent
$ 0.05 from @Oikawa
+ 1
Sponsors of Plint
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Plint
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

I am glad that you finally liked the thought of celebrating Christmas :) or the Christmas season itselt through the help of your boyfriend of course. You guys are so sweet 🤗

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thanks for your kind message :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm sorry that you have to go through all of that. But I just wanna say that I smiled when I read that you had a holiDATE with your boyfriend. That is just so sweet! And I am drooling right now because of the food pictures.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Haha thanks!

$ 0.00
2 years ago