Halloween and Pie: Great Weekend Combo

2 31
Avatar for Plint
Written by
2 years ago

I just had my experience this weekend at a first attempt at Halloween. I say attempt because that was really all it was! In the Netherlands, we do not have a tradition of Halloween, but as all things Americans it is catching on slowly now!

As I am a bit too old to trick or treat and as my pneumonia still hasn't left me capable of partying I decided to do the thing I deemed myself capable of: some pumpkin art!

It took all of my patience and I made some errors (cut through his poor eyebrow) but I am pretty pleased with the result!

In the Netherlands we do have a trick or treat like festivity. Ours is called Sint-Marten and in celebrated only in the northern parts of the country. Kids go by the doors, but instead of dressing up they bring their self made lanterns (usually you make them at school) and instead of saying trick or treat the kids sing a song for candy. This event will be on the 11th of November, so coming up soon!

Picture source:https://ditisassen.nl/sint-maarten-in-assen-2019-de-tips-van-dit-jaar/)

The Pie

Saturday we were meeting with our group of friends to see the new house of one of us. She bought a lovely house with a garden and a massive kitchen. To top it all off she had also made a feast for us! We had eggplant parmesan with a lovely salad. But I need to tell you about the pie, as it was divine!

She made from scratch this amazing passionfruit cheese cake. The bottom was made up of crushed cookies. It may well be one of the best desserts I have ever had. I need to get the recipe off her and see if I can replicate it.

Then on Sunday I had an easy day, doing things still take a lot of energy, but I did find the time for a nice long walk in the park in the fall colors. We walked for over an hour. I love it when it is nice and light, but November is not really know for its abundance of sunlight.

And with this lovely autumn pictures I wish you all a happy week and hope you had a great weekend!

2
$ 2.11
$ 2.11 from @TheRandomRewarder
Sponsors of Plint
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Plint
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

My dear friend, you wrote very beautifully about your traditions, and you also made pumpkin very nice. I love reading the traditions of other countries... I wish you a beautiful autumn, too. 🍂🍁

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thanks so much, have a wonderful autumn as well!

$ 0.00
2 years ago