Fantasy Football League: Gameweek 1

2 36
Avatar for Plint
Written by
2 years ago

I decided this football season to join the one of the most popular platforms for football fans: The Fantasy Football League (FFL) which currently has more than 7 million people involved online!

What is FFL?

Well the concept is pretty simple, you, the manager of your own fantasy football team are given 100 million pounds to pick players from the Premier League in your team. These players gather points based on how well they do in the real-time matches. You must make a squad of 15 players (11 playing and 4 subs), decide who you will put in the field, who the captain is and then you'll have to wait to see how they perform. What I like is that you can't pick too many from the same team so it forces you to be creative. I participate here: https://fantasy.premierleague.com/ if you're interested in having a look.

Gameweek 1

As this was my first try I was pretty curious how the first week would go. I ended up with 71 points, landing me a spot somewhere in the middle (phew I didn't get completely humiliated!)

I made a couple of mistakes of course:

  • I hadn't checked the injuries or fitness, so I put two players in my field that didn't play and therefore could not get me any points...

  • I had forgotten to name a captain... oops... so I missed out on those points

But otherwise I was pretty happy. It was all a learning curve, so I made some adaptations for next week, we'll see how they pan out.

The Best Gameweek 1 Team

So of course I was curious, what do people do that do really well? So I looked up the king of the gameweek and this was his team:

I think the main thing is that he scored pretty high with all his players, while mine were a bit all over the shop. Ah well, every week you learn!

Looking Forward to Gameweek 2

I can totally see how people get really hooked on this, I am already looking forward to Gameweek 2 haha. For next week I think I'm going for this:

Are you playing as well? How did you gameweek go?

1
$ 2.11
$ 2.11 from @TheRandomRewarder
Sponsors of Plint
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Plint
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

I also have fantasy and all my players are doing very fine and good

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Well done then! I still have to find my ideal team I'm afraid...

$ 0.00
2 years ago