Do The Work You Love

5 42
Avatar for Plint
Written by
1 year ago
Topics: Weekend, Community, Blog, Personal, Work, ...

In this weekend's engagement topic the question was if you would rather work a job you hate but pays well or work in a job you love and that inspires you but you would get a low pay.

Case in point: I am a teacher. So my advice will always be to go for something you love doing, don't go for the money.


Source

When I Decided Not To Go For The Money

I did really well in school, got high grades, got into any university I wanted to. And then I decided to study history, something I loved, but knew it would be hard to make a decent living out of it after I graduated. I even decided not to go for a more accepted mainstream history degree, but decided to go for the least popular, but to me most fun section of Medieval History. Now, historians often end up doing something else for lack of job perspective, but for medievalists there are hardly any jobs.

This picture shows me and two friends at our graduation. I graduated top of my class, cum laude and was instantly jobless....

The Job You Love

I started working at a callcenter for a big insurance company. Everybody needs a job right? I had bills to pay as well. I worked while I kept applying for history jobs, without any luck. After a year of soul crushing work in the callcenter I decided this was no way to live my life. Yes, I could pay the bills and I had a job, but I hated it. I decided to go back to school to get my teaching license, because at least I could do something with history!

Fast forward 5 years, I have my degree and love my job! It is still uncertain, it is hard to find a steady job as a history teacher (there is more of us than jobs) and it pays pretty poorly, but I am a million times happier than I was at the callcenter.

So trust me, don't do something you hate for the money. Do something you love and you will make do with the money you earn. You just need enough to survive to be happy, you don't need millions.

7
$ 5.47
$ 5.42 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.02 from @Jijisaur
$ 0.02 from @Ellen.he
+ 1
Sponsors of Plint
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Plint
Written by
1 year ago
Topics: Weekend, Community, Blog, Personal, Work, ...

Comments

This is the sad reality. Some professionals don't get paid well and some don't have equal opportunities. ;"(

$ 0.00
1 year ago

My friend, you wrote very beautiful and inspiring. I totally agree with you because I had the same experience as you. Doing what we hate, even if it pays well, will never make us happy. We should do the work that we love it, being happy and peaceful is the most important thing that we want in our life time...

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Thank you! Hope you also found something that you love to do!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ahhh this is very true! I was in a company before that is very toxic. People are toxic in that workplace. My job is so repetitive. I am not learning every day. So I quit my job. Now I am happy of what I am doing freelance. :)

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Oh nothing worse than having to work in a toxic environment! Happy you got out!

$ 0.00
1 year ago