A Weekend in a Yurt

4 33
Avatar for Plint
Written by
2 years ago
Topics: Relax, Culture, Fun, Friends, Travel, ...

A few weeks ago one of my friends called me and asked if we would be interested in a weekend in a Yurt with them. They had booked a yurt for the two of them but then found out that the yurt could house 4 people.

Obviously we said yes, I mean, who says no to yurt life? We would be going in the middle of winter, but the yurt had a woodstove, there was a sauna, a meditation tipi and a big forest around to entertain us!

Yurt Life

I instantly fell in love with the yurt when we pulled up. We arrived around dinner time after work, but our friends had gotten there sooner and had made us food and had heated up some gluhwein (hot wine) so that was the best start to the weekend. The wood burner was also on and it was really warm inside the yurt!

We had a great time catching up and having some drinks and a laugh. We had the wood burner on maximum until we went to bed and then covered ourselves with blankets during the night. Outside it was -5 degrees but inside we were nice and warm, until I had to go pee.....

In the morning I woke up, a bit cold but not too bad and with the light falling into the yurt, pretty cool!

The Activities

So my fellow yurtians decided to do something crazy and went for a cold water training... I declined because I hate the cold but also I had pneumonia in October and don't want to stress my poor lungs! It was a lot of fun to watch them and take pictures of them freezing in the water haha. They did stay in for 3 whole minutes, pretty impressive!

Afterwards when everyone had warmed up and we had lunch we headed out for a nice long walk through the forest. Nature can be so beautiful in the winter sometimes and we had the best of it: it was cold but blue skies and lots of sunshine. We walked for 8 km and then our feet got sore so we decided on some chill time in the yurt with some drinks and cheese.

We had a truly magical weekend in the yurt to be honest! It was lovely to have a woodburner in the yurt. We had great talks, good walks and it was absolutely glorious to be back in nature and just enjoy the fresh air and the sunshine.

4
$ 2.77
$ 2.63 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.07 from @meitanteikudo
$ 0.05 from @onlymythoughts
+ 1
Sponsors of Plint
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Plint
Written by
2 years ago
Topics: Relax, Culture, Fun, Friends, Travel, ...

Comments

I have always wanted to experience yurt but it is not common in my country. The common ones are nipa hut. :)

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I have to say there are not many here either!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I never heard of a Yurt before, great to get out and enjoy the natural world though, the surroundings seem wonderful and peaceful.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thanks, it was really lovely and very natural!

$ 0.00
2 years ago