Meisho Maru No 38 Shipwreck

0 22
Avatar for Pixidust
2 years ago

I've been living in the Overberg area for over 4 years and never new the history of this shipwreck.

The Meisho Maru No. 38 was a small Japanese fishing vessel that sank between Cape agulhas and Suiderstrand, South Africa on November 16, 1982. A storm caused it to run aground. All 17 members of its crew swam to shore safely.

When I stand close to it, it don't look small at all but if I do a comparison in my mind on the scale of the ship in connection to be in the vast ocean, its like a speck. I took the pick on low tide and you can see how close on the rocky shoreline it is. I'm sure that the weather has broken it down more and I'll try and find photos I know I took a few years ago to make a comparison

I panned out a bit to try and show actually how close the shipwreck is to shore. I took these photos above with my phone.

These 3 below I took with my Canon Eos 350D digital camera. Had a polarizer filter on as well. The wind was howling and it was a chilly sunny day. Just happy to be out and about.

1
$ 0.00
Avatar for Pixidust
2 years ago

Comments