Part 2: How to Buy in Stores using Filipino Language

0 23
Avatar for PinoyLanguage
4 years ago

You can read part 1 here

Kamusta na kayo aking mga kaibigan? or

"How are you my friend?"

The boy with no talent is back. And today, I will be teaching you "How to Buy in Stores using Filipino Language".

Well I know it is not necessary but who knows that someday you might visit my country (well of course I know that would happen and praise me for that).

I don't know if such thing is really existing in your country because here in the Philippines we usually ask for discount every time we buy. If you are that kind of person who always ask for discount just let me know and comment it down below (I don't care anyway if you do).

Let's get started

I have mentioned a while ago the "discount" thing because our focus here is how to buy in a Filipino way and using our language of course.

First, when you have decided already on what thing or food you would like to buy you can start the conversation with this.

"Ate/Kuya, magano po ito?" and it is pronounced as Ahh-te/ Ku-yeah mug-ka-noh po ee-to

In English, "Ma'am/Sir, how much is this one?"

So when the seller replied already and he/she said the price. You can reply in this manner.

Note: 1 dollar is equal to 50 pesos. You can exchange your dollars into peso in the near banks you can find. But if you can't, just do the calculations on your own.

120 pesos lang po ito."

In English, "120 pesos only" which equivalent to $2.40

"Ate, pwede po ba 100 pesos na lang ito?" pronounced as "Ahh-te pwe-de po ba one hundres pesos na lang ee-to?

In English, "Can I have it Ma`am for 100 pesos?"

And when she replied,

"110 pesos na lang po pwede pa." pronounced as "one hundred ten pesos na lang po pwe-de pa.one hundred ten pesos na lang po pwe-de pa."

You can reply,

"Sige ate bibilhin ko ito." pronounced as "See-geh ahh-te bee-bill-hin ko ee-to."

In English, "Ok, I will buy this one Ma'am."

And then after you have bought already, the last thing you need to say is,

"Salamat ate!"

pronounced as "Sa-la-mat ahh-te"

In English, "Thank you Ma'am!"

Its all done. The technique here is that you just have to ask quite a big discount and then the seller will fix a price for you then you just have to agree with the seller. You can now save money.

There are some of course who do not ask for discount because they have a lot of money but if you wish to save, you can do the steps above.

Once Again

I am the no talent boy teaching you our language (because this is all what I can do). And I don't know if I quite find myself silly but I think I am. You might find some of my jokes above and I actually mean nothing, just want to make you laugh. Hehehehehe even though I don't find it funny (wait, what?)

Of course it was.

Anyways, I hope you learned a lot from me and I am looking forward to seeing you in my country.

We have so many languages here and you don't need to memorize them because I think once in a blue moon (you can see them riding the moon) you can encounter a Filipino who have memorized all the languages here. Learning Filipino is what you need and everyone speaks it.

Lead image source: Pixabay

3
$ 0.40
$ 0.20 from @btcfork
$ 0.10 from Anonymous user(s)
A
+ 1
Avatar for PinoyLanguage
4 years ago

Comments