Faucets: are they worth the hustle? My experience after 1 month

3 92
Avatar for Piluke
Written by
3 years ago

I’ve always been skeptical about Bitcoin and Bitcoin Cash faucets: those online websites full of advertisements and outrageous popup, where you can “claim” and earn free crypto.

Usually the universal rule “if it seems too good to be truth, then probably it is ... [a scam/fake/you name it]” stays an evergreen, but this time I made an exception and went straight to try it by myself. As always I want to disclaim that no referral links will be shared: my goal is to give you my opinion and I want to be as much impartial as possible. However, when it comes to faucet you really want to share your referral links with other users and friends... as this is usually the quickest way to withdraw your free crypto!

How do they work?

Well, technically it should be pretty straight forward: you land in a page full of banners, advertisements and something else as such as surveys, and so on. In exchange of your time and clicks, or basically for your attention, you can claim some tokens and satoshi... how does it sound? As I mentioned above I’ve been skeptical but so far I am totally enjoying it! It does not mean that I would recommend it though. The key part and fundamentally most important tool for a faucet is indeed, the the so called micro wallet. Beside certain assets, the claims are so small that it would be practically impossible to transact them on chain (or in other words transferring 1 satoshi BTC right into a wallet is near to impossible).

My test and my first withdraw

Moon Bitcoin Cash is my favorite faucet

By pure chance I’ve chosen the simplest ones, in my humble opinion, associated to the CoinPot micro wallet: Moon Cash for BCH, Moon Bitcoin for BTC, Moon Litecoin (guess for what), Mood Dodge and Moon Dash. It’s very important to signup to CoinPot via an existing email address. And not forget to collect all of them, as you can convert the coins into your preferred one. So here is the catch: each single day you automatically earn a 1% cumulative bonus on the token claims. This means that after a month, if you are consistent, each claim will be worth 30% more. The quickest coin to withdraw is, none of the less, my favorite one: with a minimum amount of 0,001 BCH. It took me exactly 14 days to reach the first withdraw, claiming all the available tokens as mentioned above. A quick tip: each claim gives you 3 tokens of a proprietary coin, the CoinPot Tokens for instance, that offers quite lavish exchange rates to other currencies. The CoinPot micro wallet service is free of any withdrawal fees (at the time of publishing). Quite cool.

Why I tried and how much time did I invest

As I mentioning for the third time, my aim was to try these systems for the first time, knowing that the good times are definitely gone (back in the days the faucets used to make very many people happy). Also, I’ve been attracted by the true permission less spirit of these faucets: no KYC is required. The first two weeks of my “experiment” costed me time, beside the very expensive commitment, and I spent approximately 10 to 20 minutes per day. After converting all the tokens into BCH, I was able to withdraw into my wallet a total amount of 0,001 BCH, approximately, twice. The second withdrawal took me more or less the same amount of time, perhaps slightly less, due to a bull run and a not very generous offer at each claim. In the next ten days, I expect to invest approximately 10 minutes per day and reach the minimum withdrawing amount for the BCH. For the solely comparison with the BTC minimum withdraw (considering the requirement of 10 thousand satoshi) it would take me approximately three months.

Conclusion

My Bitcoin.com wallet

Unless your goal is to become a master in captcha, don’t waste your time! As you probably are into BCH anyway, I strongly recommend you to join noise.cash and earn right away (via on chain transactions) faucet-like tips, by simply sharing short posts or giving others free tips you’ll automatically receive by the system (with a minimum of 20% back to yourself). If you read till the end I truly thank you! Feel free to drop a comment and you can also follow me at noise.cash/u/piluke.

6
$ 12.47
$ 12.47 from @TheRandomRewarder
Avatar for Piluke
Written by
3 years ago

Comments

hello piluke....i just register read.cash and i stepped upon your post.... ..i have to say that i am a constant user of faucets for about 7 years....i have made money out of them especially when faucets used to pay 1000 satoshis every hour...anyway you may have a point but i will not quit faucets yet...i believe that what you get today will have huge value some years from now!!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Welcome to read cash! And thank you so much for sharing your experience... indeed 1k satoshi per hour were truly a lot, and now are worth more than 30 cents. I’ll continue as well to accumulate some satoshi and eventually try to switch to BTC once the bonus will hit more than 50%. :)

$ 0.00
3 years ago

You've hit the nail on the head. Fauceting is like waste of time, energy and internet data. Thanks.

$ 0.00
3 years ago