Can I share this view with you?

16 42
Avatar for Pichi28
2 years ago

I was waiting for the sun to set one time in Ueno Zoo. I got tired of walking around and taking a picture of everything and anything I saw. It was a Sunday and there were not too many people at that time. I sat on one of the benches facing the Shinobazu Pond. I took out my water bottle from my bag and drank a few drops. I stared out blankly. I closed my eyes a bit to rest it. Then uttered a silent prayer of gratitude and guidance for the next toxic work week to come starting next day.  

Concluding that the sunset will not give me the orange or pink glow I wanted, I stretched out my legs and started to get up. Besides, I also would want to grab some dinner before going back home and giving myself a needful rest before tomorrow begins.

I started walking towards the exit which is still a bit far from where I was seated. I went around the pond and stopped every now and then to look out to the water hoping to catch a sight of some big fish or something. A few minutes back I was distracted by a gurgle in the water and was spooking myself of finding baby alligators only to find out it was a medium sized turtle.

It was in this part of the boardwalk that I had to stop. Something about the way the old couple was looking at each other and the way they were engrossed with whatever topic they were talking about caught my attention. I always find it amusing and amazing seeing old couples still having that air of sweetness around them.  

My mind kept painting what they were like when they were younger? How long have they been together now? Stripped off of the fairytale, the fantasies and the magic of young romance and honeymooners, and the grandiose imaginary ending of happy ever after, and now really living the “growing old with you part”, I wonder how much of their wedding vows they really worked through.

Sponsors of Pichi28
empty
empty
empty
love is paying attention when one is speaking, right?

Wedding vows - the bold promises couples make in front of the altar, in front of witnesses and in front of God even - to take their partners for who they are, who they are becoming. This is even though neither knows how either one of them will really turn out.  I imagine it was a bittersweet journey recalling it from this point where they are now seating on their convertibles and enjoying the view. The view, that is – each other.

Rewind to that time of exchanging vows. Template vows go: “to have and to hold from this day forward...” and they start listing down extreme opposite conditions covering health, economic status, and the deadline for when the vow can be considered fulfilled: “till death do us part”. Modern vows are slightly modified but leaning to almost same sense.

When they start diving into the detail of their vows, I’d bet those events made their bond tighter. The endless decision to accept each other. The endless decision to forgive even if some offenses seem cyclical. The endless decision to stay by each other’s side and be covering each other’s back and showing up one solid front even though they are still in the middle of figuring out a certain misunderstanding.

 That is a hell lot of work but hey – goals right? I have P!nk's song playing in my head right now. One with the title "True Love". Funky way of putting it out. Also some scenes from Mr. and Mrs. Smith are flashing in my head.

I lingered longer and enjoyed watching them from afar. I am yet to see all my couple friends end up like this and that draws a hopeful and prayerful smile in my heart.

One final view of the man-made controlled jungle mixed with the busy and rich city in the background, the moon showing up, the sun making its final glow, and the clouds parading as usual.

Lead image's full capture.

Can I share this view with you?

Until forever for us is through.

Golden sunsets and purple skies.

Them colors that bring joy to your eyes.

We only have one lifetime.

And the end is almost nearing mine.

Eventually my sight will dim.

But never the memories we have built.

 

 

5
$ 19.82
$ 19.69 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @TengoLoTodo
$ 0.05 from @renren16
+ 1
Sponsors of Pichi28
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Pichi28
2 years ago

Comments

Ang ganda nang photos po..😊❤️

Di ko na lang po hahabaan hihi, napansin ko kasi agad yung photos..

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Ay salamat po ng madami :D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You're welcome❤️

$ 0.00
2 years ago

hahaha...in generally speaking... ito ang work na di natatapos talaga... its a partnership na kailangan pareho nagtratrabago for it.. di pwede isa lang... now the question hanggang kailan natin kaya magwork ng magisa.... may kinalaman ba ang faith, culture, and everybody sa peace of mind natin.. para magawa natin at di mapabayaan ang mga bagay na priority at importante.. (health, work, kids, future)... good morning

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Haha hello. Yeah imagine ko lifetime talaga. Si faith si kultura at si self malaki factor hahahaha..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

oh if thats the case.. hahaha.. need mo ng madaming courage at patience.. buti n alang unlimited ang papel ni read.. hehehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Courage and patience .. big word hahahahha....

$ 0.00
2 years ago

hahaha.. oo nga... napaisip ako dun.. bigat.. ahhaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ituloy ko basahin mamaya, Pich. Di na keri ng mata ko 😁 Muah! Lovely photos!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thanks ate do much! Taka nga ako gising ka!! Gnight!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

xoxo

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You can do whatever you want pp whether you may is a different kettle of fish 🐠

$ 0.01
2 years ago

lols uncle ed! hello and thank you again for the visit. "may" sounds more polite, eh?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hmm my reply didn't register. Well as my mother told me you CAN do anything whether you may is a different story and my pleasure pp, sleep na

$ 0.00
2 years ago

haha i got that part. second guessed you may be also saying "may" is more formal... over thinking.. sorry hahahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hehe actually it is polite not formal, may I have some more dessert, yes of course, can I have some more dessert , I don't know can you

$ 0.00
2 years ago