How police create more confusion and death in Nigeria

2 19
Avatar for Phiny
Written by
3 years ago

( my testimony)

I have listened severally to police media publications pronouncing that police road block ,especially on high way is illegal but I kept wondering what these guys are doing there , extorting money from motorists. I do hear from people that they give them target from the top. If truly illegal, they can't stand there all day and everyday doing it monotonously. What a confused state!

Few days ago, in Honda pilot, SUV, with my dad going to a neighboring town. Just after a plastic company called seplas on sagamu Benin express. We beheld this set of police officers at a check point. The business was only on exotic cars. We was told to pull over which we willingly obliged to.

My dad rolled his glass and they exchanged greetings. Then, "Oga, where is your tinted permit"? Je replied, straight and blunt " I don't have ". He then asked for my other documents and my dad gave them to him. When he saw that all was intact, he insisted on seeing my tinted permit. My dad became very miffed as he alighted from the car.

Before he could say Jack!!! We heard sporadic gun shots, we looked back and saw a hard accelerated vehicle with bandits being chased by another police team in gun shot battle. Within seconds, check point team solidified their barricades and the bandits rammed into it ,lost control and faced direction of our car with top speed.

We didn't know which to run for, the gun shots or the unfortunate car? We ran and flew into the bush near our car afterwards. We didn't know if we should shout or let me to jump down, certainly i couldnt , i was already nervous.

It was a live film fiesta, One of the officers, squatted and aimed at one of the tyres and my dad thought the vehicle will stop or eventually tumble. It was a fearful scene I tell you.

"Poof"...the bullet deflated one of the tyres and still the vehicle didn't stop and the chase was on... Questions I couldn't help asking myself.." Do I need to be at this scene at all?... What of if the guys driving that car had lost complet control and collided with my car? Will i be safe? What if the strain bullets hit me or my dad? What will this police do? Won't they ? What if something happened to me in that bush? 🤔🤔" hmmm.... I started shouting when i came out of shock and my dad told me it was safe.

We were all nervous, even ,the officer that held my car documents.. I noticed that too. He handed my documents to my dad willingly, just gave him #500 and zoomed off .

Purpose of nearly every thing in this country has been defeated. We have been forced to drive through the old road of ikenne/ sagamu there after.That was the second time in about 2 weeks, my dad had to call a police friend to bail him out the first time. I still can't phantom, why there will be 2 police check points within a distance less than 500m, as if all armed robbery cases in the country occur around that axis, yet , they say no police check points on the highway.

We are grateful to God, this is a worthy testimony that is worth sharing. Thanking God for journey mercies , protection.

11
$ 0.70
$ 0.50 from @Koush
$ 0.14 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.06 from @Telesfor
Avatar for Phiny
Written by
3 years ago

Comments

These are scenes like from an action movie. I'm glad you got off all right.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yes, but in my country its like an everyday activity. Just so sad. I I've never been more disappointed

$ 0.00
3 years ago