good and bad traders - A BTC story [ENG/FR]

0 10
Avatar for Phanty
Written by
9 months ago

Hello everyone,

First of all, forgive me for my catchy and decidedly "putaclic" (but also a little mysterious) title.
Here, I'm not going to talk about two types of trader, as the title might suggest, but rather about the psychology of the trader.

I was inspired to write this post after an event just a few hours ago hit Bitcoin like a bomb.

The SEC (the US financial regulator) has just rejected BlackRock's request to roll out BTC ETFs.

BTC immediately reacted by falling, and as a picture is worth 1,000 words :

Nice black candle, isn't it?

But that's not what I wanted to talk to you about.
For my part, I had identified a nice buying zone (taking liquidity + 38% fibo retracement).

To give you an idea, here's a dezoom of the chart:

As you can see, we're right in the zone for today's fuse.
But I didn't do anything.

So I had the right bias, i.e. more of a bullish bias, but not without taking liquidity, so why didn't I have an order in place?

Execution is different from bias!

Every trader will quote this phrase to you, and rightly so. Everyone has seen the price go up without them because of a missed order at less than $1 or a SL that hits the nearest $ only to instantly go back the other way.

You can't catch a falling knife.

I was in front of the chart when the price fell, and I could have entered my buy zone with a market order.
I didn't do it, because experience has taught me not to act on the spur of the moment in order to protect my capital.

However, I have to say that there's a taste of bitterness about it, and the frustration of realising that we were right and that once again the price has gone without us is the driving force behind one of traders' pet peeves, the famous FOMO (fear of missing out).

More than ever, I understand that trading is 5% technical and 95% mental.

If you want to support me, please leave me a comment, it gives me enormous strength. Tips are of course appreciated and if you've made a nice profit by following me, you can tip me directly at this dedicated address: 0xAE3652dE7addBC7ecD1Fd143084A1C769699396c.

Phanty.


 

Bonjour à toutes et tous,

Tout d'abord, excusez-moi pour ce titre accrocheur et résolument putaclic (mais aussi un peu mystérieux).
Ici, je ne vais pas vous parler de deux types de traders comme le titre peut le laisser entendre, mais plutôt de la psychologie du trader.

J'ai eu envie de faire ce post après qu'un événement est il y a quelques heures à peine fait l'effet d'une bombe pour le Bitcoin.

La SEC (le gendarme américain de la finance) vient de refuser le déploiement des ETF du BTC demandé par BlackRock il y a peu.

Réaction immédiate du BTC à la baisse, et comme une image vaut mieux que 1000 mots :

Jolie bougie noire n'est-ce pas ?

Mais, bon, ce dont je voulais vous parler, ce n'est pas cela.
J'avais de mon côté identifié une belle zone d'achat (prise de liquidité + 38% de retracement de fibo).

Pour vous faire une idée voici un dezoom de la chart :

Comme vous pouvez le constater, nous sommes piles dans la bonne zone pour la mèche du jour.
Mais, je n'ai rien fait.

J'avais donc le bon biais, c'est-à-dire plutôt un biais haussier, mais pas sans prise de liquidité, alors pourquoi n'avais-je pas d'ordre en place ?

L'exécution est différente du biais !

Tous les traders vous citerons cette phrases et à raison, tous ont déjà vu le prix partir sans eux pour un ordre loupé à moins de 1$ ou un SL qui tape au $ prêt pour repartir instantanément dans l'autre sens.

On n'attrape pas un couteau qui tombe

J'étais devant la chart lorsque le prix a chuté, j'aurais pu entrer dans ma zone d'achat avec un ordre market.
Je ne l'ai pas fait, car l'expérience m'a appris à ne pas agir à chaud afin de protéger mon capital.

Cependant, je dois dire qu'un gout d'amertume est la et que la frustration de ce dire qu'on avait raison et que cette fois encore le prix est parti sans nous est moteur d'une des bêtes noires des traders, le fameux FOMO (fear of missing out).

Plus que jamais, je comprends que le trading, c'est 5 % de technique et 95 % de mental.

Si vous souhaitez me soutenir, merci de me laisser un commentaire, ça me donne énormément de force. Les Tips sont bien sur appréciés et si vous avez fait de beaux bénéfices en me suivant, vous pouvez me laisser un pourboire directement à cette adresse dédiée : 0xAE3652dE7addBC7ecD1Fd143084A1C769699396c.

Phanty.

1
$ 0.00
Avatar for Phanty
Written by
9 months ago

Comments