The Power Of The Hug And Its Influence On Health

10 37
Avatar for Peter-Molnar
2 years ago
Topics: Life, Blog, Thoughts, Hugging

Perhaps some of your best memories include a hug. Sadly, nowadays it has been relegated to the background, but we can still experience the joys of a hug at home.

When I talk about hugging, I don't mean, that when I meet someone, I hug them for three seconds, ask how they are, have a few words and then run on. I mean holding them in my arms or hugging them tightly to express my love for them. Of course, hugging is one of the closest and most loving forms of greeting and saying goodbye. A person who initiates a hug is always open and direct.

One of the first feelings we had right after birth was the hug. Just as a mother embraces her newborn baby, so the first experience is also felt by the baby. Then later, as we grow, we all receive hugs from everyone else. Among family and friends. So there is no question about the impact, that hugging has on us throughout our lives. Hugging also has a calming effect and it might be a good idea to introduce the habit of hugging into our daily lives.

How much we like to hug someone depends on our upbringing, our experiences and our emotional state.

"The importance of hugging, kissing and caressing in a loving relationship must never be forgotten. Open your arms. Hug the one you love. Touch means we are close." - Eszter Király -

A hug is a form of communication that can express anything that words can't, and the wonderful thing about it is that it never goes unrequited.

If you notice that someone is suffering from a lack of love, you instinctively hug them and you don't realise how much you are helping them to feel loved again.

Image Source: Unsplash via Everton Vila

The Benefits Of Hugging

  • Hugging Reduces Stress

Apart from the good feeling and calming effect of hugging, it also has a very good stress-relieving effect. If we hug our loved ones, partners and children every day, our whole day will be calmer and less stressful. At the same time, our sense of security is increased. This is because our brains produce calming chemicals when we cuddle.

  • A Hug Is An Immune System Booster

This can be linked to the above. If we live a stressful life, we can get sick much more quickly in that state because our immune system is weakened. Hugging gives a good boost to the immune system.

And in an experiment, hugging was also shown to have a very good blood pressure lowering effect.

  • The Benefits Of Hugging Children

Hugging not only has scientifically proven effects. A loving embrace with our partner should also be very important in our daily lives. In addition to the above, it strengthens our relationship and helps us not to grow cold towards each other, which can have very bad consequences.

Now, back to hugging our children. It's good to hug your children regularly from an early age, not only to give them confidence, but also to teach them kindness and tenderness. What is also very important is that they will feel close to their parents.

Image Source: Unsplash via Xavier Mouton Photographie
  • National Hugging Day

21st of January is World Hug Day, which is, of course, all about hugging, and we celebrate it. This shows how important hugging is, and has even received international recognition. Its aim is to encourage people to hug more often. This day was first observed in the USA on 21st of January in 1986 and since then more and more countries have followed.

Lead Image Source: Unsplash via Priscilla Du Preez

7
$ 1.64
$ 1.29 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Ruffa
$ 0.06 from @bheng620
+ 5
Sponsors of Peter-Molnar
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Peter-Molnar
2 years ago
Topics: Life, Blog, Thoughts, Hugging

Comments

I really can't count that much how many times I have hugged or have been hugged by people. I guess I live in a family where affection expression through physical means is not that welcome. I personally would cringe if I would imagine that I am inviting someone to a hug. This is how we grew up. Maybe I will try to be more of a hug person when I become a mom.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh you will be. You will be hugging your child or children all the time. :) That is for sure.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you for this. :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow, I didn't realize there were actually benefits to hugging that there is already a national hugging day? Really these days, I think a hug would be comforting for me.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Definitely! Not just these days, but anytime. Thanks for reading.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I don't know but I feel too shy when I want to hug my Mom. I can count on my fingers on how many times I did hug her. I don't know, I'm sweet with my boyfriend but I can't just express my feeling to my parents 🙈. But seriously, hug can really bring that feeling like a comforting feelings. Whenever you're down or in a bad mood. Just a small tiny hug from your love ones can erase those unwanted feelings.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's right and you feel different as well depending who you hug. I should hug my parents more, but it is difficukt to travel at the moment. I live far away from them in a different country.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes, hugging increases our esteem, it allows us to feel comfortable with people for whom we feel respect and love. We feel how they reciprocate with the same feeling. In this era of confinement, the embrace was in the background. The contact of the elbow or fist does not replace the emotional charge that involves a hug.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes indeed! I just read the news now. Here in England we are allowed to give hugs again.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Great, it's a success!. I congratulate you on your achievement. We are still in diapers.

$ 0.00
2 years ago