The Haunted Ones (Chapter Two)

6 31
Avatar for Peter-Molnar
2 years ago

The Hotel Room

When we arrived I thanked the man for his help and we said goodbye. He got out of my car and slowly walked away. I then drove on. The first thing I noticed, that there were many old houses along the main street. I found it really interesting, that there was some kind of 'pattern' behind the types of houses, that got spared. There were some that got turned into shops, others became apartments, some were just left as they are now. As I got closer to the center of town, I noticed the buildings getting bigger and more luxurious looking.

It seemed, that along the 'Gold Rush' area of the town, more luxurious businesses took place. Finally I reached the center of Kenosha, and I saw the impressive town hall. It was a beautiful building made of red sandstone and marble. I decided to explore a bit, before finding a hotel. There were a few places I saw, that looked like they have character.

I saw a small coffee grinders in front of me as I walked in 'The Old Towne Inn'. Hello, is there anywhere I can get a cup of coffee around here? I asked the owner behind the counter. Sure, the River House is a few blocks down. Good coffee there. He answered. Is that place any good? Oh yeah, the best! He said with a smile on his face. Thanks, I'll be sure to go there and have a nice day.

I left the Inn and headed down the street. I saw the River House up ahead and decided to try it out. As I walked in, I saw a man who could very well be a modern day cowboy standing behind the counter. I thought to myself this town is really making a fashion statement with their cowboys. As he turned around to greet me, I realized, that his pants are really tight and that his shirt has a picture of a pair of six-shooters on the front. I nearly laugh out loud. Good morning, welcome to the River House. My name is Raphe and if you would like a table, I would be happy to get one for you. He said extending his arm towards me.

Yes please, that would be great. I said as I shook his hand. He looked at me for a moment and then said. Wow, your accent is really strong. Where are you from? No, not that far. Crithorne, actually. Wow, really? Where did you go to College? I saw, that this type of questioning is heading towards the territory of being able for them to track who I am. I decided to be evasive and not tell him anything. Um, actually I never went to college. I found that learning things just kind of happened to me as I got older... Anyway I heard you serve good coffee here. Well, what is that you usually drink? Oh just an Americano, thanks. Coming right up.

After Raphe poured the coffee into my cup and gave it to me, I immediately realized, that I just made a mistake. When I am out of my own place, I tend to forget this very natural social nicety. My right hand was in my pocket while I was ordering my coffee. I pulled it out quickly. I am so sorry. Don't be. I find that someone like you after a long day you should be tired. Raphe replied. You are obviously a man, that has been through a lot, and I expect you to be running on very little sleep. Said Raphe and he looked down my hand and noticed, that it is wounded. I am actually looking for a quite hotel to be able to think about my day once again. I mean I'm... I... so I just want to go to bed. Raphe immediately noticed the slip up and looked at me, as I realized, I just revealed far too much information about my mission to this cowboy. A hotel? Yes, do you have one you can recommend? I want to sleep well.

Hmm, well there is a small hotel across the street with some rooms. It's not the fanciest place, but I guess it does the job. Ok Let me finish my coffee and I go across to that hotel. I hope I will have a peaceful night. Is everything ok with you? Asked Raphe. Yes absolutely fine. I just need some sleep.

In a small place like this everybody knows everybody very well so Raphe went ahead to phone up the hotel and let the receptionist know, that a strange man will arrive very soon with a wounded hand. Keep an eye on him he said to Luca the receptionist.

I walked out the River House. I cross the street and enter the Haven Inn. I will have a room on the second floor. The stairs are a little creaky, but everything seems to be quite safe. As I entered the room, the bed started to shake a little bit as if something is inside of it... The lights flickered on and off... I have a bad feeling about this... I looked around and asked "Is anyone in here?" I looked at the mirror and all I saw was everything blured out. "What's going on?" The light completely went off and it is pitch dark in my room. I thought there is a black out, but I noticed, that the red led on the TV is on. After a few seconds the TV turned on and a strange red bold text appeared on the bottom of the screen with a black background.

"You have been expected! Now, that you are here, I got you!"

I tried to open my door and escape, but it was locked. There was no way I could open it. Someone is trying to kill me! I yelled out. I started banging on the door as hard as I could and began yelling as loud as I could. Someone is trying to kill me! I had a strong smothery feeling around my neck, then I dropped to the floor as it released me. I heard slight movements inside the room. Please stop! I shouted. The bathroom door cracked open. I don't want to die! I said in a small voice. The bathroom door opened slowly and a beautiful lady stepped out. I'm sorry if I scared you. I tried to crawl back as she came into the room. Her clothes were covered in dried blood. Please, help me! She said.

Who are you? I'm sorry I just need a place to stay for the night. She said. I think we both should leave here. Why are you covered in blood? I was... Arguing... With who? Um... Some people. What happened? I don't want to talk about it Why not? I made mistakes, I can't go back. It's all in the past now. Can't you still tell me? I mean... Maybe it's my fault... I brought this on... Maybe if I... It's not your fault... I just want to forget it. We should leave here. This place is dangerous. I said. I know... she confirmed. Do you have somewhere to go? I do! A friend. Of course you do. I say sarcastically. No, I really mean it. She'll take us in.

We both left the hotel room, but unfortunately this was only the beginning.

7
$ 6.61
$ 6.24 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Crackers
$ 0.05 from @Jane
+ 5
Sponsors of Peter-Molnar
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Peter-Molnar
2 years ago

Comments

Hope the lady isn't on a mission too? I guess she is. And what is it about Raphe who gave you the coffee? I am sending something is fishy. Everyone has hands in this.

Let me sit while I await the next part of this horror story

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You will know who this lady is in the next part.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wait, the woman is she a ghost or what? And what's with the man and he was being track down by whoever it is 😱

$ 0.00
2 years ago

She is not a ghost. In the next part you will know who she is. The man is away for now.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Seriously, what is wrong with this place? I am getting goosebumps! I thought everything will be oky again. :(

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It seemed ok at the beginning though. It's not a love story haha. I hope you liked it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago