The Haunted Ones (Chapter Three) Final

4 18
Avatar for Peter-Molnar
2 years ago
Topics: Story, Freewrite, Writing

Kenosha The Ghost Town

We both sat in my car and aimed to go to the lady's friend. As I started to drive, I noticed, that there are a lot of people around. Look how many people! The lady looked around and said: Yes, it's the local celebration. There should be more people on the streets, but... Before she can complete that sentence, I heard shots and screams in the streets. I looked around and realized, that everyone around me is shooting. I heard a whistling sound. A bullet went through the windscreen, but fortunately non of us got hurt. Why would people shoot at a celebration?

The lady looked shocked and scared. I have no idea. We have to get out of here as soon as possible. The lady said. I agree. Let's get out of here. I accelerated as much as I could to get out of the area as fast as possible. I heard a loud explosion, which was followed by a bright light and sounds of breaking shop windows. I was afraid we were going to crash into a building, but I managed to get away. I have seen a bright light like this before. I wasn't very surprised by seeing that light. Do you know what just happened? The lady asked me. I guess there are ghosts around. That's why people are shooting, but I don't understand, how are they able to see them.

Ghosts? Where did you have this experience? I didn't really want to answer this question, because then she might start asking me more. I don't want to talk about it. Please can we change the subject? I asked her. Sure! What would you like to talk about? Sorry so many things happened. I never got to the point to ask your name. I'm sorry too, I don't think I introduced myself. I'm Luca, and I'm really glad, that you came to that hotel, because I was afraid that I stick there in the bathroom forever. I went up to your room before you arrived to check if everything is ok. I checked the bathroom too. The door shut and locked. I could not get out.

You stepped out from the bathroom covered in dried blood. You said you were arguing with someone. I did not really believed you. I guess you met the ghost in my room, he made you bleeding and he locked you in the bathroom. I can't wait until we find a safe place free from ghosts. Oh, do you know what happened to me? I explained the whole story. She interrupted me and started talking: Wow! I didn't want to tell you what really happened to me in your room, because I thought you would never believe me.

She told me, that she was opening my room door and saw a ghost standing in my room. The other guests in the hotel complained to her about hearing noises and screams during the night. I know ghosts. I can tell by their eyes. I stick around them and sometimes they stick around me. That's why I suggested to leave the hotel, because there are ghosts here, that are dangerous. Where does your friend live Luca? My friend lives in a different part of the town. She's not scared of ghosts, because she doesn't care. I suggested to stay at her place, but she lives on the other side of the town. I can't believe I did this, but I want to go back home. I feel like I am not myself here. She seems nice and sometimes safety is better, than being scared all the time and be alone.

I don't have any other friends except my family. I never had any friends. I don't know if ghosts are real, but I saw one. It's probably better if I tell her, that I saw ghosts too. I am not sure if it is a good idea. I said and I introduced myself. My name is Thomas by the way. Let's go. Luca looked a little scared. What if ghosts follow us? She asked me. Ghosts stay where they were killed. They will not follow us. She didn't look convinced, but she didn't look scared anymore either. We were on our way to Luca's friend.

Thomas didn't know, that Luca was working in the hotel and she is the one, whom Raphe called up from the River House.

Before we take that road on the left, let's have a drink. I know a good place nearby. Said Luca. It is called the River House just down by the river. I know that place. That's where I came from to the hotel. I said.

They agreed to have a drink there so they pulled up at the River House and entered. Raphe was already expected them to come in. He knew from the first time, that Thomas should not be alive. He is vicious and he does not tolerate strangers in Kenosha.

As we entered I saw Raphe in the same t-shirt he wore last time, but this time he grabbed two real guns and pointed at me. I was scared and looked at Luca and said. Let's get out of here. No! We got you now. It was a set up.

Raphe was about to shoot, when suddenly the door opened and the black hooded guy Jack entered.

You should not be here at all. I gave you the map to follow and I told you where not to go. Said Jack.

It was too late Jack could not prevent the disaster. Raphe shoot Tomas down. He hit the ground and his body disappeared right in front of everybody. Thomas has become a ghost and started to haunt in the River House. Jack failed his mission. In the following years more and more strangers were killed either by a set up like this or by ghosts and Kenosha has become a ghost town.

Lead image source: Unsplash

5
$ 8.32
$ 8.15 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Crackers
$ 0.05 from @andrianlover
+ 1
Sponsors of Peter-Molnar
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Peter-Molnar
2 years ago
Topics: Story, Freewrite, Writing

Comments

Oh Gosh, this is just sad and that Luca is a b*tch 😤

$ 0.00
2 years ago

She certainly is. :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sad ending. It became a ghost town, literally. Was hoping Jack came a bit earlier though. :( I was expecting him to show up and help the poor guy.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

He wanted, but he could not make it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago