Do You Really Want To Hear The Truth?

4 22
Avatar for Peter-Molnar
3 years ago
Topics: Life, Blog, Writing, Experience, Blogging, ...

Being honest always a good thing. Telling the whole truth about something whether if it is positive or negative, shows your honesty and it considerably helps solving an accidental problem. If you know the truth, but you keep back or you do white lie, you are still lying. However, sometimes we don't want to hurt other people's feelings by telling the truth, so we tell what they want to hear instead.

In most cases, people just want to know your honest opinion about something, that they own. They want to know how does that new outfit look on them or how is their new hair style or hair color. This is different, because they asked and you express your opinion.

Now, what about if you ask somebody to tell the truth about you? Would you be able to handle it? Since the truth is a fact, we have to accept it, even if we don't want to, because it hurts or makes us feel embarrassed. Hearing an honest truth from your best friend, could be very painful. It could turn out very bad or else you accept it and you say, you know what you are right and let it sink and think about it. It can make your way of thinking or behaviour much better.

Image Source: Unsplash/Mahmudul Hasan Shaon

It happened to me ones and I guess I will never forget it. When I heard the truth about me, I thought how can they say that to me. Do I deserve that? I felt so uncomfortable. I didn't pritend, that I didn't hear it or try to hide my feelings. I had a deep thought and after a while, even though it felt so bed and really hurt me deep inside, I had to realize, that they were right about me. They told me the truth after all.

I accepted the fact. I had no other choice and I handled it. I don't say I handled it well, because it was so hard, but I tried my best and things could have been turned out even worse, but I didn't let that happen.

Something changed inside me. I knew, that I can do better. So I kept calm as much as I could and learned from it. Not just I was sort of proud of myself to handle the situation if I can say that, but it helped me to look inside me and it really made me to think.

You see, you might make much better choices and decisions later in your life, that even get your attention. The more success you achieve by making good decisions you will be more focused and become more valuable, which will really benefit you on a long term.

Living with integrity means: Not settling for less, than what you know you deserve in your relationships. Asking for what you want and need from others. Speaking your truth, even though it might create conflict or tension. Behaving in ways, that are in harmony with your personal values. Making choices based on what you believe, and not what others believe. - Barbara De Angelis

There are people who are completely out of control and cannot handle the truth at all. By denying it or ignoring it, that is not handling. It may be much easier just to run away from it, but I would rather handle it, than live with lies and it would not help me at all. It would not solve my problem.

4
$ 0.42
$ 0.36 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @immaryandmerry
$ 0.01 from @aaskelter
Sponsors of Peter-Molnar
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Peter-Molnar
3 years ago
Topics: Life, Blog, Writing, Experience, Blogging, ...

Comments

What an interesting content you have in here. It is true that there are so many people who can't handle the truth. As for me, I can be so blunt on my opinions but I know how hard it is to accept the truth so if ever that I have something negative to say or some negative things that I noticed, I am really trying my best to be careful with my words. As much as possible, I wanna give my honest opinions in a way that it won't hurt others.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you for your time reading my post. Sometimes it depends on those people as well. Maybe someone asks you to tell them really what you think. They want to know if they can do better or what they should change. Whatever the case may be. Otherwise it is always hard and yes we have to be careful what to say and also careful if you want to ask and prepare for the possible worse. Thank for the upvote too.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Hey. No biggie. You're welcome. I just wanna add that in the end, we should always tell the truth. coz lying is bad. Constructive criticism is also important in here.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Ecaxtly!

$ 0.01
3 years ago