Changes In The Last Decade

11 27
Avatar for Peter-Molnar
2 years ago
Topics: Life, Blog, Thoughts
Image Source: Unsplash via Ross Findon

It has been just over 10 years since 2010. That decade has also passed quickly. Was there a single moment when you stopped to think about what has changed in the last 10 years? If so, you have noticed the changes, if not, your daily habits have changed along with the changes, and they have slowly changed along with you without you even noticing.

In this article we look at how things have changed over the last decade, what we did differently 10 years ago. It doesn't seem like a long time, but when you look at what has changed, you realize that a lot has changed in comparison.

I could write for hours on this topic, but I'll mention a few, including some that have undergone a slow transformation and we may not have noticed them.

Mobile Phones And Social Media

I know we had mobile phones and social media 10 years ago, but since then the number of users and the number of social media platforms have grown rapidly. People spend much more time on their mobile phones, than watching television, for example. The average user looks at Facebook's news feed 14 times a day to see what's going on and that's just Facebook. I haven't even mentioned the newer platforms.

Also, crypto related blogging platforms have appeared and with them, crypto related video sharing platforms too. 10 years ago, I would never have dreamed, that I would be able to earn cryptocurrency by blogging.

TV Series Dominate

Movie ticket sales have plummeted in the last few years. On the internet, you can pay a monthly subscription and watch an unlimited number of movies or series, all day every day if you can. Online streaming has taken the lead over television and cinema.

A monthly subscription on Netflix, for example, is cheaper than a single person going to the cinema. I understand that the latest movie is not available and I don't need to explain to anyone the experience of watching a movie on a big screen and with sound effects, but I have to take it as a fact, that there is no queue for a ticket and the cinemas are almost empty.

Music Streaming Instead Of Downloading

People's access to music has also changed. Before the advent of Spotify and other music streaming sites, many people were buying physical music records or downloading albums from the internet. Downloading music is a thing of the past. At least in my opinion. There is also unlimited access to high-quality music, either for free or for a monthly subscription.

Image Source: Unsplash via Viktor Forgacs


Less To Remember

People are very spoilt by the possibilities of modern technology. Everything is just a click away. When was the last time you had to memorize a phone number or write it down somewhere you couldn't find the next day? Everything is easy to save, phone number, note, date, time or anything else. Everything is in one place on your phone.

Everything Is Automated

With respect to the exception and no offence to anyone, I think we should use our brains more. We leave everything to the computers and end up not even doing a simple calculation on paper, but just typing it into the calculator and getting the result without any thought.

When have you sent or received a handwritten letter or greeting card? Sending letters is done online, just like sending birthday greetings or Christmas cards in digital format. I know these were around 10 years ago, but their use has increased and that does not improve our situation.

Online Dating Is Bigger, Than Ever

There are so many online dating sites, but nowadays it's all about the apps. Apart from the fact, that you can find a partner on these apps, the algorithms also play a big part in helping you find your match. It's a bit like an artificial intelligence telling us who to choose. What's amazing is that people trust these algorithms and use them to find matching partners.

What may be successful in a profile match is far from certain to be successful in real life.

Image Source: Unsplash via Patrik Gupta

Mobile Phone Cameras Have Replaced Normal Cameras

Even advanced mobile phones have very good resolution cameras. What's more, they fit in your pocket and don't have to be carried around all day on a sightseeing trip.

But professional photographers don't give it away so easily. They need their proper equipment.

The Influencers Have The World

Influencers are proliferating on social media platforms. They have huge followings, which scammers exploit to the full. Instagram, for example, is the perfect platform for influencers and they can strike a very good deal with marketers to post a product to their audience for 24-48 hours.

Rise Of Singers Through Talent Contests

I love talent shows. Being a music lover, I prefer music competitions. Today, we can meet many new singers, who have become winners of well-known talent contests such as X Factor or Voice. By signing record contracts and appearing in the media. Creating great opportunities for those, who want to try. If someone is eliminated, but thinks they're worth it, they can try again. I know a winner, who not only became an established singer, but within a few years became a judge.

Record Players Welcome Back

I am glad to see, that vinyl records are back and people are buying them with vigor. I think the vinyl record provided the best sound quality for the music. It's one of the things that hasn't lost its credibility and I hope, that there will be more things in the near future, that have been successful and we'll see them again soon.

Image Source: Unsplash via Immo Wegmann

Don't Worry If You Can't Spell And You're Not On Good Terms With Grammar

Since we write everything on the computer nowadays, we don't have to worry and waste time thinking on how to spell a word, if we spell it wrong the machine will correct it for us and even correct grammatical errors for us too. It's okay to save time. We still learned to spell correctly, because we didn't have computers and smartphones. We used to write on paper, but the kids now will have some problems with that.

Artificial Intelligence

10 years ago, it would have been hard to imagine that there would be self-driving cars and subways. It's not just in transport, but also in the online world, that artificial intelligence has emerged.

I am sad to have to face the fact, that AI can learn anything and do a lot of things for us. I am thinking here of songwriting, composing music, writing news and blogs.

Dear read.cash bloggers, don't use the latter. :)

8
$ 5.92
$ 4.83 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.23 from @Eybyoung
$ 0.20 from @Pantera
+ 8
Sponsors of Peter-Molnar
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Peter-Molnar
2 years ago
Topics: Life, Blog, Thoughts

Comments

10 years ago? Mmmm. I was busy talking to Filipino friends for hours. Lol. These friends are people I met on airG, a dating site. Lol. We stayed all night talking nonstop. I was also busy watching movies I guess. Hehe.

Now, I rarely watch anything unless I have enough time. Now, I don't text or call anyone on the phone coz we are more on chatting on fb. Hehe. So many have changed then.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes I noticed in my own behaviour too. The only thing that bothers me, that a lot of things are automated and makes us more to rely on machines and computers.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

10 years ago, I was just 10 years old. Probably too innocent from what's happening around the world. Lol

Less to remember, yeah so much true! I remember memorizing everything back then, I know the mobile numbers of my family but now, I can't even remember their birthday. I have facebook to notify me for that. Things are rapidly changing! Digitalization is so prominent nowadays, everything is automated, everything can happen virtually. I cannot imagine what will happen for the next 10 more years.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I think in this decade technology will be more developed and lots of new things will come out. The question is will it be good for us. Will it help us develop or make us even more lazy.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

yeah. agreed. i'm also guilty with that getting lazier and lazier. we're being so dependent with technology. hmm

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah looking back, we meet physically to make projects, nowadays even projects can be made virtually. Lol. There are times I would go to computer shop just to go internet and play and watch youtube videos because we don't have computer at home and wifi isn't much known on our town. Haha! I say everything is so digital nowadays. I won't be surprise that even marriages will be done virtually in the next decades. 😆

$ 0.05
2 years ago

You know what in theory it us possible. Even digital signature exists for witnesses. Lol

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahahah yeah, or even biometrics dan be done! Hahaha 😆 I even wonder how does, students survive the education these days. My brother is still in senior highschool and the thing is he was sending some of his projects to me. I wonder if they ever learn. 🙈

$ 0.00
2 years ago

There are younger kids in our family and sometimes I get to see what they learn in school and I compare what and how I learned. We had hard times. Today school is easy.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Easy but I don't know if they ever learn. I know how hard it is to study, super hard! Like you will really strive to pass. And I don't know, now its a good topic to discuss! Covid Impact to Education. 😅 I am not good with analogies and reasoning that is why I am not confident to open this topic.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

They don't learn much. Here in England kids cannot fail at school. Even if they are bad at learning they still pass all their years. In my time in Hungary if a atudent was bad they had to repeat the whole year.

$ 0.00
2 years ago