My thoughts on the Dream Scandal

0 21
Avatar for Perxius
3 years ago

As some of you might know, (and would probably know if you clicked on this article), a recent scandal on one of the most popular youtuber, Dream, took quite a big hit on media. In short, Dream was accused of cheating in a minecraft speedrun contest by tampering with the random RNG in the game itself to give advantage to himself. The head moderator, Geosquare published a research paper that explains mathematically why Dream cheated, and Dream published a response.

From a purely objective point of view, there are less reasons as to Dream's incentive on cheating than for Geosquare to make up some scandal. By this, I mean, that Dream does not earn much in cheating: there are no rewards for being in the leaderboard, and he also did not even get top 3, or even top 10. He also doesn't need those speedrunning videos to earn money, as he has manhunt videos which gets far more views. In the other hand, Geosquare has a lot to earn: he gets the views from all of Dream's fanbase as well as attention to his channel as well as his speedrunning website. Therefore, it is easy for one to assume that Geosquare was biased.

However, I think not. After watching Geosquare's video, I can't imagine someone doing this and being wrong; I can't imagine someone who would make up such a big scandal, knowing that he can be proved wrong.

Anyways, thank you for reading my rant that isn't really a rant, but just my thoughts. I am not biased by anything nor am I coming to any conclusions, but I think there are some psychological things that could be taken into account.

1
$ 0.00

Comments