Getting my head in the game

0 24
Avatar for Pega5u5
2 years ago

Video games are so popular these days as well as their players, many of them are being professional esports players and earning millions of dollars by playing national and international competitive tournaments.

Thinking about the past

As a common Batang 90's growing up, I didn't get the best chance to experience what other kids do at the same time, gadgets, PC, Xbox, Ps4, etc. Until I'm in elementary and someone told me to go with him and try out to play a video game with him. We went to the place where he said and that is the first time I saw this kind of place where kids group up not playing outdoor games as we do outside (running, hide and seek, patintero, tumbang preso, etc.) instead they are playing video games where you need coins to play.

As I've said this is my first time seeing this so I was amazed about this new community of children. We tried to play something on an arcade-like gaming machine with a joystick and a couple of buttons and we play for almost an hour, and that's where it all starts, I was in love and suddenly obsessed with this.

This was like the arcade machine that I used to play with.

High school experience

After months of my first experience being in love with video games, it suddenly stopped because the place where we play arcade games closed up and the owners need to leave and move to Manila. So years passed by and I didn't play any video games until I was in grade 6 when one of the houses by the road was built and started their computer shop business. Honestly, I don't know how to use a personal computer at that time and I'm scared to try and rent one because I might destroy it for some reason. Until I learned how to use the internet and Youtube, every time I went and play to the computer shop, all that I'm doing is watch funny videos on Youtube. Until I was in high school that I've started to play some PC games like Counter-Strike, GTA San Andreas, and Plants vs. Zombies but the screen is rotating because I cannot control the mouse at that time.

MOBA and Online games obsession

It all started in high school when the real obsession comes out, especially when I learned how to play DOTA and everything went crazy. As a matter of fact, I'm always an honor student growing up (elementary) but not until high school when my grades suddenly go down because of this obsession. The way I felt that time was so amazing, I'm addicted to this game that I can't focus on my studies. What matters to my mind that time is what strategy or heroes I'm gonna do tomorrow. That's when my studies fall apart, when I reached 2nd year of high school, it was the first time in my life that I'm not going up the stage to take an award. I'm so ashamed of that time especially to my mother because she's expecting so much from me.

Meeting my friends

After everything that happens I didn't stop playing online games and after years of playing, I made so many friends that I wasn't expecting to met and be friends with, and until now I'm 24 we are playing DOTA 2 every once in a while with the friends I met because of this game. Sometimes I'm thinking that what if we had the means to buy a PC when I was a kid maybe I reached my dream of being an esports player. This is what I want to do and I don't regret anything.

Thank you guys for reading my very first article herein read.cash! God bless -Pega5u5

Sponsors of Pega5u5
empty
empty
empty

1
$ 0.00
Sponsors of Pega5u5
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Pega5u5
2 years ago

Comments