Wedding Eve Murder

2 42
Avatar for Pearlkel
1 year ago
Topics: Romance, Self-love, Problem, Gems, Fiction, ...

I was in my room with my best friend, Excel, she is my best friend in the world, my ride or die. We have been through thick and thin together and am not sure anything can break us up. We are in my hotel room preparing for my engagement party. It is supposed to be the happiest day of my life but unfortunately, it isn't. Marrying a man just for the money and what he has to offer is really painful. I can't even marry the man I truly love.


Paul, my supposed fiance, is a monster. He beat me to a pulp and I had to tell my mum because I can't go through with this marriage.


"Mama, I don't think I can marry Paul"


"My beautiful daughter, why would you say so? Your marriage is tomorrow, why would you be saying this now?"


"Mama, Paul beats me. I don't think I can go through with this sham of a marriage." and my mother started laughing hysterically.


"You have no choice but to marry him. You want to leave behind a good life just because of a few slaps? You had better endure. You see the way I am shining and it is all because of Paul's money and nothing else. So you better suck it up because you must marry Paul tomorrow".

 And with that, she left the hotel room. Currently, the only person that understands what I am going through is my best friend Excel. I can't go through with this marriage,  I just can't. No matter what mama says, I'll have to call things off with Paul by tomorrow.

 But even with the support of Excel, the fear of what Paul and his family members would do to me for embarrassing them overcame her overnight. She had no strength to stand against a man who had the world at the palm of his hands. And though his mother had never seemed to take a liking to her, it would still be seen as an embarrassment to the Owolabi. So no matter what Paul has done, she still had faults.

Sponsors of Pearlkel
empty
empty
empty

The next day, she tried to gather courage to tell him but she remembered the way he would always hit her and her courage dwindled down until she had none at all. She then decided to go in with until the only person who understood her came in, Excel was so close to slapping some sense into her before she got the motivation to call Paul.

When Paul got in, her heart skipped a beat. She tried to remember Excel's motivational speech but everything flew outside the window.

"Paul… I have something to tell you. I can't go through with this marriage again"

"No, Nancy, please don't do this to me. Don't say that. What will I tell my family and friends? 

Everyone is outside waiting for us. We have to go through with this wedding no matter what."

 " Paul I can't. Paul you promised the last time that you wouldn't lay your hands on me again but you did and I don't think I can continue to endure this pain. I want to quit Paul. Look for whatever to tell your family and friends but count me out of this marriage."

And with that, Paul landed a heavy slap on my face. 

 " This is what I am talking about Paul, you are a monster"

 " And I'll show you what a monster can do if it is messed with."

Paul started beating me so badly. I don't think he has ever been as angry as he is now. God I can't believe I wanted to marry such a person. I wish I had never met him because instead of getting the man of my dreams, I got my worst nightmare.

 From my line of vision, I saw Excel coming into the room and immediately, she dragged Paul away from me because he had started strangling me. And he slapped her so hard she hit her head on the nearest table and continued the job of doing the best thing he knew how to do best. Turn me into his punching bag.

It all happened in a flash, and before I knew it, the sound of a gunshot echoed into the now quiet hotel room. And immediately, Paul dropped dead.

 "Excel, what have you done? Jesus Christ we are in deep shit"

" I didn't mean to kill him, I swear. It was self defence. He was trying to kill you. In fact he would have killed you."

"What are we going to do now?

Obviously he's dead and there's no way we can get the body of Paul Owolabi out of this heavily guarded hotel."

" I have an idea, maybe we can chop the body into pieces and it will be easier that way"

 In all my life of knowing Excel, this has been the craziest idea she had ever brought to the table. And then, we rushed into the kitchen looking for a butcher's knife to cut the body into pieces.

After trying, we could only get the head off. Who knew cutting a dead body wouldn't be as easy as it is in movies. Now, not only did we kill the Owolabi's precious son but we also cut his head off. We are in so much trouble. I and Excel then decided to wrap the body in a blanket and the head also and take it somewhere to bury it. Getting the body out of the hotel was easier than we thought and immediately, we drove to the outskirts of town and dug a shallow grave and put the body there. It was hard living with the thoughts of killing a person and burying the body but as I have said before, Excel is my ride or die. She killed Paul before he could kill me and the only way for me to pay her back is to be with her. She's like a sister to me and I wouldn't give her up for anything.

Weeks later, the police found Paul's body in the shallow grave. I knew this was going to be trouble for me and Excel. But when I heard the news of the police suspecting an assassination which they found on the CCTV footage of the hotel, I felt relaxed for a moment. According to the police, the assassin was a notorious criminal known for his different crimes and they wanted to know what a shady person like that would be doing at Paul's wedding.

 

Even though the assassin was found, Paul's brother, John, was also found sceptical because Paul asked his sister, Pauline, to be careful of John and that itself was suspicious. John had always been jealous of Paul because even though Paul was older, John was better than Paul in many ways but Paul had always been his mother's favourite. So to Paul's mother, John could be a part of the murder of her son.

 

But even his best friend was suspect. His best friend had always been righteous and Paul was more on the spoilt brat side. So he had always had a little resentment for him. And that itself was enough to make him a suspect.

All in all, everyone was a suspect, even herself. All except Paul's mother. Paul's mother made sure to do anything to get the killer of her son, even playing dirty. Even though no one knew her friend killed Paul, she was afraid of her life so they began to run. 

They ran and wandered but with no one on their tail. Later on, Paul's mother got suspicious and they later had a bodyguard running after them. A lot of times, they had a lot of dead bodies on their necks. The police now were against them and the Owolabi was making sure their prosecution was death.

First Posted Here

Lead image




   

4
$ 2.66
$ 2.55 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.06 from @King_Gozie
$ 0.03 from @Oikawa
+ 1
Sponsors of Pearlkel
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Pearlkel
1 year ago
Topics: Romance, Self-love, Problem, Gems, Fiction, ...

Comments

This story makes me remember the movie that I washed titled blood sisters, it was very interesting and they later got justice for self-defence and abuse too.

$ 0.03
1 year ago

Self defence is usually the way out of an attack. Thank goodness that her friend Excel was very much around, Paul.xould have hacked her to death.

$ 0.00
1 year ago