The House In My Backyard

10 31
Avatar for Pearlkel
2 years ago
Topics: Gems, Faith, Adventure, Passion, Blogger, ...

Our retreat took a different dimension over the weekend. After the registration of all those who had come to take part in the programme, we were served a sumptuous meal for the night and listened to a part of the word, acceptable service. 

The speaker, a revered banker and preacher spoke of many indices in which our service or faithfulness will be tested. At the mention of giving and sacrifice as a part of those indices that measure up to our service, I felt sober because I knew I haven't been doing the best in these areas. 

The retreat was a success to say the least. On the second day, the hall could not contain us. There was an arrangement of overflow outside the premises. 

In the evening of the second day, when the programme had been completed, we returned back home. For me, it was a period of refreshing and tapping knowledge from those who had gone ahead. 

I got home peacefully, hoping to clear the house since it has been without anyone for two days. I had to dust the room and furniture then mop the ground. That alone is two two hours of my time. 

Since the next day was going to be Sunday and I would have no time to go to the market to buy food stuff, I quickly did that. 

I was happy I had accomplished the whole lot even after the stress of attending the programme and returning from the long journey, worsened by the bad road, a large portion that had been patched up. Then, I retired to the kitchen to do my favourite meal, fresh fish stew and morsel. 

From my kitchen window, I could see the house behind my apartment. It has been built for years but no occupant has lived there. The owner lives abroad with his family and comes home once in a Blue Moon. 

Now, it was already getting dark. The house which usually is silent and dark had lights flashing through the window blinds. Now, my curiosity was beginning to mount. I had to tame my legs from not walking out of my space. 

After cooking and having my dinner, I discovered that the lights were still on and movement of people could be seen from the shadow reflection on the curtains. 

Sponsors of Pearlkel
empty
empty
empty

I had a cool shower and went straight to the gate of the building. 

What caught my attention was that two big vehicles were packed in the garage. One Chevrolet bus without seats, those that were built as a carriage and a Tundra with an open space at the trunk. 

Confidently, I knocked at the gate.  I one answered at first. But I persisted, yet no one was in sight. Now, the chandelier in the living room went off. 

So, I stepped back and decided to call Engineer Bello, the owner of the house. I knew it would be expensive calling overseas from Nigeria but it was the best I could do. 

From the other end, I heard Bello saying 

He has called.

We exchanged pleasantries and I told him quickly why I called. He laughed and said to me,

Those are my sons, they came home to serve their father land. 

I was relieved. But Mr Bello continued:


Have they related my message to you?

No sir, I replied at the top of my voice. 

I have tried knocking at the door but no one was responding. 

Engineer Bello asked me to wait. He called the boys. In a jiffy, they ran to open the door and ushered me into the living room where they gave me a bag. It was a large bag but I didn't open it in their presence. 

The boys, Tade and Femi, asked me to put them through the NYSC process which I did and then retired to my apartment. 

I was so eager to open the bag. Of course, it wasn't a bad experience when I did. In it were knickers, t-shirt and an iPhone. This is the biggest gift ever in the year. 

Engineer Bello is a good man, not because of the gift ooo but after he had completed the building project, he asked me to look over it and five reports anytime I needed to. That was all I did. And here, the gift came in. The House in my backyard has become my screen, I am motivated to always check out anything that has to do with Engineer Bello's crib.

Lead image



5
$ 1.85
$ 1.80 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.03 from @BreadChamp
$ 0.02 from @charmingcherry08
Sponsors of Pearlkel
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Pearlkel
2 years ago
Topics: Gems, Faith, Adventure, Passion, Blogger, ...

Comments

What a great gesture from Engineer Bello, gifting you something huge for you having a watch over his house. One thing I also love about Engineer Bello is sending his children down to Nigeria to visit his native land only a few African parents can do that when they make it abroad. Am so proud of him for understanding and teaching his children that a journey can not be like home even when he did not say it to them.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

You know, with spite of decadence and the collapse of the country, many parents who have successfully breed their children abroad will not think of sending them home like Engr Bello.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow 🤩 engineer bello is such a man who consider his home town for his children because if it’s other people they will prefer their children to live abroad in their entire life. It’s nice you took the courage to Know at the gate because at first I thought they were thieves.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Yeah. Engr Bello is a good man, he wants to imbibe the African culture in his wards.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I really thought at first that it was a horror scene haha. That's a great blessing indeed that you received. You must be so happy. ❤

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Thanks. I was just watching out for my neighbour, and see what it got me.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

OMG I thought it’s some horror story🙈 but the way you sketched everything through words is just superb. BTW Congratulations on phone

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Thanks, @Raheela. I had to keep an eye on his house, not knowing I have something coming for me.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Now, that's one way to end a beautiful day. Congratulations on the Iphone

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Thanks, @Talon.. That's the power of loyalty.

$ 0.00
2 years ago