Never Say Never

4 21
Avatar for Pearlkel
1 month ago

I woke up to bad news yesterday and ever since, I haven't been myself. One of our friends from a distance paid the highest price by taking his own life. One would have asked why. I have had a lot of instances that would have made me think that there is no need living anymore but no, as long as there is life, there is hope.

Men, this life may be short but it is worth living. No circumstance is big enough in exchange for life, none.

When the news came, I first thought that it was a prank. If it were, then, one would say that it was an expensive prank. The truth is that it wasn't a prank, it is a real-life matter.

The young man in question was doing well as much as I know. He has a good restaurant in a busy part of town and the patronage of encouraging and he also does transportation business to add to his flow of income. Ordinary, that should be enough to keep body and soul together.

Said enough is that consciously drank a substance that kills for just a debt he owed a micro finance bank that isn't up to $500,about three hundred thousand Nigerian Naira. What a world.

Everyone got suspicious of this guy when he posted a threatening message on his Facebook page, saying :

Good Bye!!!

That statement aroused a lot of questions and the conversation under it was well above three hundred. His close associates sprang into action, looking for him everywhere. He neither received his calls not replied to messages sent to him.

Under that message were words of encouragement. People from different climes contributed to the conversation, some even going to the extent of telling their stories so that the young man would know that there are people with tougher challenges out there.

Have Been There Before

Sometimes in the year 2020, when the whole world was locked down under the guise of the COVID-19 pandemic, I lost over two million naira to a business I invested in before the lockdown. It seemed like the while world was crumbling on me. All that came to me, even in my sleep was how to pay the supplier of the good his money. It was so tense that I barely could sleep for some day.

How I Escape The Depression

I decided to talk to my boss for a loan. Despite knowing that most businesses were locked down during the period, he obliged with me that the only consideration he would give is when the lockdown is called off.

The supplier accepted. After the lockdown, for over two years, I was earning less than $20 monthly because the remaining part of my monthly pay was going into debt servicing and payment. Though the income was not enough to run my home, I still was grateful that I have life and blood flowing in my veins.

What To Do When Life's Challenges Confronts You

Every living thing is faced with one challenge or the other. In fact, the richest man in the world still some challenges peculiar to him. Hence, do not settle with the irony that you are in your own world and that all hell will be let loosed on you.

I would propose that when life's challenges comes at you and you seem not to know what to do, take the following steps.

Talk To Someone:

Get a trusted and more experienced person that you can talk to. Surely, that fellow will put you through a session of relief. I would suggest that a professional counselor be consulted to help in this regard. Do not forget that a problem shared is half-solved.

Engage In What You Like

To avoid negative thoughts, during this period, engage in activities that bring you comfort and joy. For me, I'd rather go watch a football match to keep negative thoughts far away from me. You can do what soothes you and what you like doing to keep you busy like listening to music or going out with friends.

Self Care

Health is wealth. And without good health, life becomes boring and tiring. No matter what you are confronted with, make sure you take care of yourself, I mean your health. Eat well, do not starve yourself. Be prepared always because there is nothing new under that earth. Just be human first before anything else.

Image source

1
$ 0.05
$ 0.05 from @TheRandomRewarder
Sponsors of Pearlkel
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Pearlkel
1 month ago

Comments

Yeah! Definitely, health is wealth at all cost.

$ 0.00
1 month ago

Sorry to say so but it's not up to you or any of us what a good reason is to commit suicide, enough reason to continue, keep mind and body together. One thing is clear to me and that's that all those people who say they are surprised, shocked did not KNOW this young man. If this had been the case he might have been still alive. I say still because it is clearly not about material (at least the way you painted it) but about a hurt, lonely, lost soul in need. One no one saw, recognized, cared for or could touch. You ignore the fact, this young man's fact there was NO hope.

☹️

$ 0.00
1 month ago

Thank you for your candid comment. The young man was not in any way opened for talks, he hid the problem until he was weighed down.

$ 0.00
1 month ago

It is what most do but it means also no one knew him for real

$ 0.00
1 month ago