Just An Act of Kindness

0 19
Avatar for Pearlkel
1 month ago

Kindness could mean different things to different people. To some people, it could be to stretch a hand of fellowship, helping people in time of need. To some others, it could be the simple character of being considerate and approachable by others. 

The act of kindness is more of an inbuilt trait that individuals exhibit in their day-to-day activities in life. 

Today at school, being the first day at work after the mid-term break, I am on duty to coordinate the learner's behavior from resumption to the closing for the week. The week's duty is for three staff members and I am the only male. The remaining two staff that are on duty this week took me by surprise. Though it's our official duty to be in school on time and to attend to the learners as they arrive, these ladies did more than I bargained for. 

Assembly Ground Talk

Our topic for the week is Inventions and Inventors. Throughout the weekend, I was doing research on who invented what, the year the idea was born, and the relevance of the invention to mankind. My research took me to borders that I never expected I would get to. I found out the inventors of air conditioners, typewriters, computers, cells, syringes, and many other items. 

To my surprise, one of the female teachers has done a thorough job. She improvised instructional materials, printed them and laminated them for the learners to comprehend the talk. What a very good way to start the week. 

I was actually preparing to take the assembly talk before she appeared from the blues and mounted the podium. From the beginning to the end, she was on top of her game. 

Her act of kindness in this was that she took responsibility for a mob that was not meant for her alone. This is the kind of person you need to give a job to and go to sleep. 

I Would Not Have Done Better

Her level of preparedness indicated how thoroughly she prepared for the assembly talk. Seriously, I wouldn't have done better. She took one step after the other dishing the talk out to the learners. 

As I write this post, I am currently doing more research on some other inventions that have influenced our lives one way or the other. 

She has put me on my toes. Seeing that she even had to spend her money because she wanted to impact the learners indicated more kindness on her part. Only a teacher with passion for the job would go extra miles to ensure that the learners get to see visible examples of what they intend to teach. 

In teaching, we believe that what the learners sees they remember, and would never forget. At their age, they get attracted to colours and as such, when a teacher intends to impact the learners, he or she should involve colourful instructional materials. This is exactly what my female colleague did today. The extra cost she added to making the teaching more effective made my day. 

Her Reward Came Handy

After the assembly ground activities with the students, we had a briefing with the school management of the school. In the meeting, we were asked to applaud our colleague for such a wonderful presentation. 

I was so elated that I couldn't help winking at her. She is such a kind person. 

The management of the school awarded her a set of designer pen and a sum of fifty dollars which is equivalent to forty thousand naira in Nigerian currency. 

She Is Just A Kind Colleague

At the closing hours, I found a brown envelope on my table when I returned from checking out the students. It was addressed to me from Miss Jane, the kind colleague of mine who took the assembly talk. She shared her gift to all of us who are on duty. 

This is the height of kindness of you asked me. 

• All images used in this publication belongs to me. Permission must be sorted before public use.

First published Here





2
$ 0.06
$ 0.06 from @TheRandomRewarder
Sponsors of Pearlkel
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Pearlkel
1 month ago

Comments