Diversification of Needs

3 22
Avatar for Pearlkel
1 month ago

Happy mid-week everyone. It's a pleasure to be back to read.cash. My heart is always here and I am not sure I will consider leaving anytime soon. Today, I bring you a blog about my personal experience and appraisal of what has become of our once-prosperous nation called Nigeria and the recent unwarranted and sporadic upshoot in the cost of living in our nation.

Just yesterday, the Nigerian Labour Congress went on a protest to show their grievances on the high inflation rate of consumables and low income or earnings of the Nigerian workers. I am here to say that over the years, there have been little or no changes in the abrupt decisions taken by the government, they would never rescind in their wrong decisions. We have heard that in Nigeria, our government is making some notable economic policies that better the lots of the citizens. But here is the question. When will this become effective in the lives of the common man?

As such, I devised a method to escape the wrath of our economy on my life as a person and that of my family as a whole. What is this remedy?

Subsistence Farming

The way out of the economic hardship is to be engaged in farming. I started this last year during the rainy season. Here in Nigeria, we have two seasons. The dry and rainy season. During the dry season last year which lasted between June and September, I was engaged in serious farming of cassava ( the most prominent plant in Nigeria), yam tubers, potato, pepper, tomato, plantain suckers, and pineapple.

The Benefits of Subsistence Farming

This kind of farming is for personal interest and benefits. When I started clearing or preparing the land last year, it was a step I painstakingly took. Today, the music has changed in my favour.

After about nine to ten months, we decided to harvest our cassava which seemed to be the most economical crop we planted. This assertion came as a result of the cost of cassava flour in recent times. Good willing, the crop yielded very well that just for a plot of land, we uprooted the cassava for three days and today, being the last day, we worked on the remaining and cleared the land for another planning season.

You will have available, major good items for your daily living. For example, some of those things that we would need to spend money buying will be just at the back of our house or in our garden.

When your subsistent farm crops becomes excess, you can put them up for sale.

Neglect of Farming Is Causing Food Scarcity

When I read about nations that do not have arable lands like ours, and how they succeed in agriculture, I wonder what has taken over our agricultural move of the late 1970s and early 1980s. When individuals and governments invest in agriculture, there will be surplus yields which would later reduce the cost of food.

In my locality, there are empty and very arable lands that snakes and other bush animals have turned to be their habitat, this year, I have resolved to clear all and make them farms for different crops.

To really gain economic freedom, one has to look beyond salary. When we depend on the meagre salary that we receive at the end of the month, we become limited in our living, whether on feeding or shelter or other things that we may need to spend money on.

2
$ 0.05
$ 0.05 from @TheRandomRewarder
Sponsors of Pearlkel
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Pearlkel
1 month ago

Comments

Great article

$ 0.00
1 month ago

Thank you.

$ 0.00
1 month ago

Nice to read, great you manage to grow your food.

$ 0.00
1 month ago